PAINTING ANGELS PART 1

in #art7 years ago

DSC_0004.jpg
The first angel was an accident. Or I could say it just arrived. I was in a dark place, and all I could do was turn to art. I had always put my life on paper, pulling the terrible out of me so I could breathe. I began a painting, Fallen 1, from one of my drawings of broken people/creatures and put mountains in the background. When people came by, they saw an angel: the unfinished mountains in the background had become wings that sprung from the its back. I began to adapt the concept of the fallen angel in other paintings; the angel had been removed from heaven, but perhaps in my version, returning was a possibility.
fallen-angel.jpg

My poem, only feathers string me across the sky, one nudge or wrinkle and I fall, crash through violet dusk and skyscrapers, this wingless, landlocked, flattened creature of despair, describes the fragile threads/feathers that kept me from falling through the sky at that time. I drew a version of the poem, and what appeared shortly after on my canvas was an angel that hovered above the city, pulled upward by her wings. People saw in her what they needed to: a guardian angel, an angel of hope or an angel of sorrow. That painting is Angel Over the City.angel-over-the-city.jpg

angel-seated.jpg
angel-hands2a.jpg
IMG_20130909_203841.jpg

All paintings were painted by me and photographed by me on a Nikon 3200.

Sort:  

Waow - beautiful work - thanks for sharing so many in one go.very thought and sentiment provoking! well done

Thank you @kate-m! I appreciate your response!

Such a shame that you haven't got any votes yet, because these are really beautiful, dark angels. I guess everyone wants their angels to look like the things you see painted everywhere in churches. I really like yours. They are evocative. I upvoted you xx

Thank you @deesunshine! I appreciate your feedback!

Even when your at your worst and your in the dark, art is the best way of expressing yourself. When you find your way you will always have it to remind you of the place you used to be at.
Lovely artwork, I have truly never seen angels draw in that manner.
Gave you a follow and a like :)

Thank you @hamdih! I really appreciate your words! I did find my way, after a time!

Awesome work, do you have any artists that you got inspiration from for these?

Thank you @jrue! Over time, I have been inspired by many artists. Some of the more famous ones were Marc Chagall, Frida Kahlo, Pablo Picasso, Egon Schiele and more. Maybe you can see a little Chagall in a couple of the paintings...

Thank you @ahmadrox! I appreciate your feedback

beautiful painting!

Great work by beautiful gal !
Perfect mixture of Art and Skill .
Keep it up my friend @jenniferhosein .
Upvoted !

Thank you @akkha! Much appreciated!

You are welcome @jenniferhosein !

great work .. keep it up

btw., do you sell your work ?

Yes I do! Check out my website http://www.jenniferhosein.ca/.

Wow, it is very beautiful and full of feelings. Your style is unique and colors convey the artwork atmosphere. I like it.

Thank you @molarity! Your words are much appreciated!

hmmn creppyyyyy..paintingss...

Amazing!!!!! Keep the good work coming! #UpVoted And btw if you interested in learning about new places do check my recent reshare of the 1st ever in my Tour India series, https://steemit.com/india/@alexkoshy/india-life-and-tourism-6-states-covered-why-should-you-tour-india-i-reposted
Steem Signature - Copy.jpg

Thank you @alexkoshy! I will.

I loved you paintings !! you go for those dark angels and disguised well inside the paints their intentions!! wings ready to take a flight but darkness stops them from swinging those wings !! caught for eternity.......i loved all of your paintings i too just posted my devil (painting) and my painting i dont know how is just below yours in tending section .....maybe you can take a look at mine https://steemit.com/art/@chapterclosed/hello-my-friend-darkness-we-meet-again-painting-05 and tell me what do you think

Thanks @chapterclosed! Your response is much appreciated! I took a look, love your devil and story!!

So glad you're putting your angel series out there! Love it! :)

beautiful art

First time i saw this kind of paintting

That's beautiful ❤ I upvote and follow you. I write poetry too. Check my blog :)

Thank you! I followed you and upvoted you too. Cool piece about the end of a relationship!

Congratulations @jenniferhosein!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 5 with 165 upvotes
  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 124,89

Thank you! I am so stoked!

your art has a deeper meaning to it, what struck me the most was the angel over the city, i dont know how to describe it but in me it gave a familiar sense of nostalgia :)

Thank you @moonprincess! Angel Over the City has evoked many feelings in people. It came out of a very deep place, looking for hope in the dark.

Excellent

Excellent

Hey @jenniferhosein , would love to offer to come onto my podcast sometime.

It is all about entrepreneurs; what you are doing, believe in and what difference you are making in the world.

Here is the playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5CpCNPna6p95oJfKPew0N3ZT0k-khdgg

It is audio only over skype. Does this sound of interest to you?

It sounds very interesting. I don't know if I am at the level of entrepreneurship that you are focusing on, as I am just starting to put my art out into the online world, even though I have had a number of exhibits and such. I make my living teaching Esl, and I do my art and writing as I please, as often as I can. That said, I would be interested. I am currently working on an online interview about being an artist for an online art magazine.

Please go to this link, as it has the instructions as well as different times that I am available, please pick the best time for you:
https://calendly.com/adriannantchev/entrepreneur-podcast

as said art expresses what the artist thinks, your arts spell depression in my eye very much.

I went through a period of loss and mourning and now I am good. Putting my feelings on canvas helped me get through that time.

yep as a painting lover myself I can be assured what you've been through is true, glad that you are fine, stay healthy, stay lively!

I love these! Second one is my favorite, love the colors.

great ... i loved your art.
thanks for sharing

thank you @akareem! i appreciate your response!

Definitely some of the best art I have see on steemit. I like the second one with the contrast between the bright colors and dark theme.

Thank you so much @timspeer! I love your music (just listened to one composition and will listen to more!)

Follow me back bro