Fading - A Poem About the Loss of a Loved One

in #art2 years ago (edited)

fading.jpeg

.
.
.
Fading

It’s harder to remember the sound of your voice, telling me you loved me, saying my name.

Holding

The Italian horn necklace you left me. While everyone else looked to stake claim to your things, all I wanted was the little pepper necklace you told me would protect me when I was younger.

Fleeting

The picture of you in my head, the encouraging touch of your hand on my shoulder, pushing me to keep going.

Longing

Summer dinners at your house, London broil and jasmine rice, while you cook and ask me about school, I get to feed the fish.

Passing

The years, it simultaneously feels like forever and yesterday since I was sitting by your side in the hospital.

Missing

Hard strawberry candies, peppers from your garden, birthday cards stuffed with fifty One Dollar Bills.

Regretting

Times I told mom I didn’t want to go to your house, leaving the hospital that night.

Fighting

I know I will never forget you, and yet I am fighting myself to remember the details of your face.

Fading

I can’t remember your voice...

.
.
.

Before this, the only poems I've ever written started with "roses are red, violets are blue" lol. But I love the art of poetry and music, and how it promotes sharing feelings without remorse or regret. Especially because they're up for interpretation, so no one can tell you whether or not it is good. This is something I have never done before, and was certainly hard for me to share. But to anyone that reads this, I hope you enjoy.

Sort:  

Takes alot to put yourself out there and try something different. Cheers to you for taking that tough step.

Thank you man, appreciate the support as always!

Now get to work on yer Young pieces! 😜