You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Character Design - A look behind the scenes

in #art6 years ago (edited)

thank you @jedigeiss! :D ♡

that looks like a super interesting project actually! very cool.

hmmm.. I have to think about that one a bit, because 4 characters is a lot of work for an uncertain outcome, and the brief is a tiny bit vague.. ish.
It's a sweet price but then, say my designs "win", does that mean you automatically get to use them however and wherever you like? Who holds the copyright? And would I get any visible credit anywhere?
And say, the game takes off and starts pulling in profit, I read in your white paper that participants will essentially get part of the earnings (which is pretty sweet!) but what about the artists who helped pull it all together? Are we, as is unfortunately so often the case, then condemned to watch something we've created garner huge popularity and profit without getting anything out of it other than the initial "prize" for the designs?

I'm sorry, I hope you know I don't want to knock your project, I think this is an awesome Idea and think it has a real chance of success - which is actually why I'm thinking about all this way more than I would with any of the other contests floating around - I also, absolutely do not want to imply any malicious intent on your part whatsoever - but as someone who has been (whether knowingly or unknowingly) f*cked over concerning their work and copyrights as a freelance artist more than enough for a lifetime, I've become a bit more careful with jumping the gun on these kind of things. sadly.

I hope you understand my concerns. :)

I will still think about it. I really like the idea after all!

Thank you for wanting me to participate in any case! I take it as a huge compliment :D

LG
Jill

Sort:  

Ach wir könnten auch in Deutsch schreiben ? ;)
Hmm ich verstehe deine Bedenken, lass uns doch mal drüber reden, meist findet sich eine Lösung.
Bist du schon auf dem deutschen Discord Server ?
LG
Jan

Ja mit dem gleichen username, falls du mir eine Nachricht schreiben möchtest. ;)
Wäre vielleicht nett (und aufschlußreich ) wenn ich dich ein bisschen ausfragen könnte haha