You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Character Design - A look behind the scenes

in #art6 years ago

weee! thank you!
haha glad you got something out of it! :)

Yes, usually it's definitely the smaller studios where you're more likely to be able (or be asked) to wear multiple hats, absolutely.
Weirdly, that studio wasn't "small" by any stretch of the word.

but i guess it still operated like one because there were multiple smaller units all working on differnet type of games, further split up into teams on individual games, so it somehow operated like a smaller studio in some cases, depending on the management of the specific teams.

I was definitely lucky that they were so casual about it and gave me a chance. :D

Well, it was a bit of a strange situation because the whole reason they ran out of things for me to animate is because the production of the game had stalled a bit. So I didn't rrrreally have hard deadlines. I was just sort of doing my thing and also additionally helping out here and there.
I learned a program called spine as well, with which they did most of their "2d" effects, and designed a few buttons and things too, which was interesting because I'd had literally no experience in that before.
They also "lent me out" to a different game, so I got to take a break from animating "cute and cuddly" and step out of my comfort zone animating "cool" characters that had proper walk, run, attack, get hit, and stun cycles etc, which was interesting. During that time I learned to animate in 3Ds MAX too (I usually work in Maya) so lots of learning opportunity for me, which was pretty sweet.