Feel Froggy? I did and jumped right into Steemit!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171220_154421271_HDR.jpg


And I am loving it! My chainsaws and I are here to stay.

Here's a quick carve frog I carved recently, took a total of 1 hour start to finish. Its not much in regards to detail but does show the process and was easy to put together this video. I hope you like, and if you want to see more, check out my blog. Also I have some pretty cool projects in the coming months that I will be adding to this amazing platform.
Thanks for watching


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Excellent post my friend keep up the good work 👏

I never expected that I would be so fascinated by the sight of a frog

Love it, this a very unique talent. My dad has made a few pieces of furniture using just a chain saw in my childhood but nothing like the content here. How did you end up getting into this area of art?

Thank you, long story on how I started but it saved me from a dark place in my life. All it took though was seeing it done for the first time. I was amazed and wanted to try it. Was unemployed at the time and they were selling faster than I could make them. Here I am 10yrs later making a very good living just carving.

This is awesome!! Great job and welcome to steemit! looking forward to more :)

Welcome here!

I am always glad to see people who bring value to the platform. Art is important, and often times not as well rewarded as other skills.

I have posted a couple of times offering my art for SBDs, no sales yet. That said, would you consider selling your art for sbds?

@tawasi thank you, I would consider it yes. Sold a piece last year for Bitcoin and watched it grow 1000% that's how I found Steemit. After I diversified my portfolio into alt coins.

That's excellent. So the whole thing isn't done with a chainsaw? That surprises me. I thought there were like a dozen different chainsaws or something.

On the small stuff I need to use other tools as the saws don't cut it, pun intended...started out with using chainsaw only because that was the "proper" way in the industry. However, I've always felt compelled to go beyond and it made a difference in sales. So I kept at it. Thank you @profanereviews

Oh, I'm by no means a chainsaw purist, but it does explain a lot in how some sculptures differ in quality. Now I can see why ones like these are different detail quality.
stuckinthesand.jpg

BC01.jpg

Joerg Jung is an amazing carver as well as airbrush artist, he does use other tools. I remember seeing the moose piece on Facebook a couple few years ago. The other one I'm not sure though, looks to be much older. The tools, including chainsaws have evolved over the years.

The older one is from 2008 by Nyal Thomas and I figured that the moose was done with other tools as well. We are always on vacation when the competition is on, but we are going to try to get back this year, because we only see the finished product and know nothing of the process.

Well, we do now that we've seen your video.

I plan on freeing up some time to travel and do some international events...Chetwynd is definitely on the list

That's awesome. Hopefully, we can meet up for a coffee or a beer. I don't know what you're into or what time it will be.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Looks awesome! Btw what kind of paint did you use?

@lukdragon thank you it was a water based airbrush paint called Spectra-tex

Goodpost

Interesting

It looks very good, it's well done.

You did a great job, welldone

Thank you @promisearts I checked out your blog and I've got to say bravo! Excellent work! I am now following

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Loading...