Action Pack Sketches

in #art6 years ago

2 - Copy.png


Nothing beats a good old action movie, what do you say? Well today I felt like drawing a few action poses inspired by movie covers. Can you find the common thread?


For the first sketch, I tried the famous back shot, looking over the shoulder hero. My first attempt without reference turned sour as proportions seemed awfully wrong. I gave up before the end for that reason.

4.png

I managed better the second time around with a sneak peek online. I found it interesting comparing both attempts. Seeing what I could have done better. Hopefully that teaches me something for next time.

1.png

Adding the rain really gave a "noir" twist to the scene. I must say I'm a big fan of Max Payne. This almost looks like fan art for the second edition. I'm actually still working on the design for an upcoming story. I did more doodles on this character here.


Then comes the shoot-dodge. This unrealistic move coming straight from Hong Kong action flicks is one of my favorite. Surprisingly we don't see that many women trying that out...

What I really liked from the initial sketch was the face of the character. I'm not very skilled at drawing women so I was pretty happy with it. Unfortunately the proportions for the arms were a little off. I had to call it quits. Too bad...

3.png

It got a little better on the second attempt. The key was dropping the left shoulder way down so the arm can reach further.

2.png

Still think I could improve on that. Let's say that in the action, the body blurs and transforms to weird shapes. That's why... Otherwise, I worked a bit on clothes for this one. Just so I would be a recognizable character. More design variation for her in this blog...


Now on to the movies...


The common theme was Liam Neeson!

Here are the references I used...

taken-2-affiche-500916b43f83e.jpg

2016-03-22_56f0b0a4403a4_Non-Stop.jpg

More of that coming next week.
Please consider upvoting or sharing if you liked what you saw.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

cuddle_hug1.png

This is very impressive @jrej. Lookin forward to more. Cool candles on your steemd! 👍🏿

Thanks a lot. I'll try to post some more. I'd love to share a new page of my on going comic. Still in the works though. More coming you way, I promise! ;-)

I'm a fan of that style of drawing. A very interesting style is achieved and it is possible to add very interesting effects to the final work. I loved the details of the weapon and managed to realize the effect of the movement perfectly. This type of art is difficult to achieve but it fits you very well. Excellent post, greetings.