Bringing content creator over - The Webcomics niche

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

This is my very first post on Steemit, so it's a good excuse for my personal introduction.

Untitled.png

My name is Jrej,
I'm an amateur webcomic creator and I just got into crypto currency seeing the bitcoin price crancked up so high recently. One research led to another and I'm discovering this amazing platform which is Steemit.

As a content creator online, finding a space which rewards your efforts is hard and advertisement has proved to be less and less efficient. That's why I'm so excited about what I'm seeing here.

Now most of the content is crypto-related, which is not surprising.
What I'd like to experiment, in the next couple of month, is getting more webcomic creators and artists in general to use this amazing concept. I believe that the power of stories and images will gather more people to the project.
I'm part of several artist communities and I would be thrilled to share my experience of Steemit to them.

If it's not out of place, I may introduce to the site my own original series called Shades Of Men.
I currently have 9 chapters done and could post one every week to build a webcomic audience.
The story takes place in modern Paris, following a group of homeless people as they try to help a kid thrown out in the streets.
They'll soon be faced with trouble from their past and we'll have to take their responsibilities.

1465105493.jpg

I realize this has nothing to do with crypto. That might come in a later project.
Let me know what you think about the idea. I'll be sharing more content with you in the coming week.

Thanks for taking the time to read through this.
See you around. ;-D

Jrej

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, @jrej.

Yes, please, publish your series on Steemit!

I see that you are a French artist, and you wrote your series Shades of Men in English.
Would you be interested in a French translation, similar to the one I am doing for "Phill from GCHQ" by @katharsisdrill?

English:
https://steemit.com/comics/@katharsisdrill/phill-from-gchq-page-27-nut-and-geb
French:
https://steemit.com/comics/@vcelier/phill-du-gchq-page-27-francais-nut-et-geb

Or, maybe you already have a French version?

Thank you @vcelier. I saw what you did with "Phill fom GCHQ" and that's great work. I do have a french version for Shades Of Men, at least for the first few chapters. I might post that out later on. Thanks again for offering to do that though.

You are welcome.

By the way, I see your chapters are 11 page long.
I would suggest to make two posts for each chapter, in two different days of the same week.
For example, 6 pages on Tuesday and the remaining 5 pages on Friday.

Good advice! I was actually wondering... Page per page is definitely too short so my initial thought was a full chapter every week. Posting half might be a good compromise.

Welcome to Steemit - We are a few comic-artists here that try out the platform as a means to supplement our income (if there are anything to supplement) -

You can find some of my posts here #phillfromgchq, and soon I will also try to collect a list of comic-artist here on Steemit.

I have added you and reshared your post :)

Thanks for the reshare! It's nice to find some fellow artists posting here. Your comic was the first I saw when I looked around. I haven't had the time to get into the story but I'll definitely will! ;-)

Well, no hurry :) First you have to get into Steemit and how it works. But I will try to collect some of the comic-makers and some of the people who writes about comics, soon, so I will include you.

We are not that many :)

That's a good plan. You are right, still a lot to learn about Steemit. But I feel very welcome already!

Great, I will try to see if we can unity the efforts here and maybe support each other. There is a lot of guilds and steem-trails and other organisations here and we might just try to do something for the comics.

Hey I'd be thrilled to be part of such a group. Let me know if you organize anything. In the mean time I'd love to do some fan art or cross promotion with your comic!

For me personally I'm a member of the Steemit community for the content.

The rewards and values hold little interest for a minnow like me. Maybe when I'm a whale I'll think different? :-D

Welcome by the way.

Just wait until the rewards really kick in and then we'll see your true (blue) colours ;)

Hey we're all about the content @dickturpin but @steevc is right a reward for the time we put into it is always nice. Definitely a plus!

So here's a thing. I'll be happy when I reach 100% trustworthyness. Seriously, probably means more to me than say $100 in the bank.

Welcome and good luck !

I suggest you use the hastag #introduceyourself for more exposure.

Thanks for tip and the nice words. I added the tag as mentioned. Very helpful!

Welcome. Comics can do great here. Just see how @mynameisbrian does, although he's not typical. There's also @joyoftech, @shayne, @spottyproduction. Have fun

Good to hear! I'll go check all these guys out. Tons of creativity from what I can see already! Building my feed little by little.

Very interesting, thanks for posting - Voted and following!

Glad you enjoyed! I hope I can bring more variety to the steemit content and help spread the word. ;-)

Nice to have you on board! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

It sounds like an interesting story - I'd like to read and see more!

Thanks for the kind words. I'll post more about it soon...