Portrait Medley - Round 2

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey there,

You might remember my first blog including various portraits. Here are more of those for your entertainment. Some of them are inspired by famous actors, some actually are not... Guess which ones?

tumblr_neyrsayYeY1tgl0gzo1_1280.jpg

criterium-rotring.jpg

To do those, I used a Rotring mechanical pencil with HB leads. I did switch to 0.7mm for a thicker line though. I know, I know... It came in a kit with the inking pens! I can tell it's pretty good quality in the end.

tumblr_nb3ysmikb41tgl0gzo8_1280.jpg

I realize this portrait has lighter lines. I would usually end up having much more contrast in the final piece. That's also because it's an older drawing that started to fade out a little. Good thing I took a photo before it was too late. I learned you can cover it with hair spray for protection but never felt like it. It feels kind of strange, isn't it? ;-)

tumblr_nb3ysmikb41tgl0gzo4_1280.jpg

It's hard seeing those after a while. Some details hurt my eyes a little. That's how I see I progressed I guess...

tumblr_nb3ysmikb41tgl0gzo2_400.jpg

And it's with this lovely lady that I conclude today's medley. I have plenty more where they come from. I would usually draw these with my wife. We have a lot of fun going through older drawings, comparing our work and analysing progress over time.

Hope you enjoyed this unusual blog. Don't hesitate to share your thoughts below. I try my best to answer every message.
You can find more content like sketches, process and my own original comic on my profile.

Thanks for passing by and for the support,

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Very good @jrej👍😄

Thanks a lot Tania!

I really love your portraits! I also am aware that you can use fixing spray on them, but it's a bit complicated and it requires to be in a ventilated room or even outdoors, because the product is supposed to be toxic. I know that some people use hairspray! Hahaha Use what I can, I guess :) Resteemed, upvote as always :)

Haha Yeah my sister would use hair spray all the time. Crazy things people do, right? And yes we are a pretty creative family! Thanks for your continued support. ;-)

awesome sketches! great likeness followed

Hehe that's very nice of you. Especially since you're so talented yourself. Thanks to you I know I can push it an extra step to make it look even more realisitic. You're final polish looks magic to me though.

Wow!!! Very nice! I love them!
and what? You said mechanical pencil?!?! Sorry I collect mechanical pencil. I have one of Rotring as well :) very good pencil! Thanks for sharing your artwork!

Hehe I have quite a few myself. Love drawing with these. I know some will tell we're missing out on creative techniques that can be used with regular pencil only. I say that's alright!

That's alright with me too! They are missing out on the beauy of the mechanical pencils...heehee 😁

Good job & I love France . Keep it coming

Thanks a lot. I have more of these lined up. So glad you enjoy France. Greetings from the Cheese country then!

Wonderful work

Thanks a lot Prakashghai. It means a lot!

Ur welcome :)

This post received a 1.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @jrej! For more information, click here!

Congratulations @jrej! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!