Story Telling - Ideas For A Future Comic

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,

DQmTh7YAAE9Ff8bhr7o6V8NEKjAZTiKd5ze9Gp34QEy.jfif

If you went through my profile, you might have noticed that I'm all about story telling. I'm actually drawing my very own comic Shades Of Men. You might have seen some posts about a Sci fi World building project called IN/SYS...

Now is a whole different thing! It is the most recent idea out of the three mentioned, so it definitely needs to mature more. But I think it'd be fun for you to see the progress over time.

This project is called...


Bullet Proof Minds


The story takes place in a near future where technology and social media have taken over everyone's life. In the mean time research on Telekinesis and associated Brain abilities has have slowly progressed. Rumour is spreading that human minds could have a subtle influence on their environment. However this type of information is massively censured by the major governing powers.

I'd like to tell the stories of various characters in this world, linked by the way they all use their minds to interact with the world. Below would be a possible cast using crafty layering and tissues...

IMG_5286.JPG

I know we see a ton of stories with people using powers . It's pretty trendy and probably a little boring. My take on it would be characters with only subtle abilities but strong personalities. It would be the connection between all of them but they not be overpowered. They got to be the underdogs after all...

IMG_5288.JPG

This unnamed main character would be a central part of the adventure. We would follow him as he walks out of jail. He had been condemned for the murder of his wife after they had been in a terrible car accident. Convinced that a failure in the car automation system caused the accident, he would become obsessed with taking down the technology company behind the car manufacturing.

After the accident, he noticed an unusal hand temperature that would leave a trail of smoke when closing the fist. A raw and unpredictable ability that can cause minor burns and ignite a small fire.

IMG_5287.JPG

This other character would be a scientist, working in a university research lab. They would specialize in parapsychology anomalies. He was able to create a glove that amplifies telekinesis intensity. We see him here using a door as shield in a heated gun fight. Without this device he could probably just move a few pencils on a table...

IMG_5293.JPG

IMG_5294.JPG

This lovely but anarchic lady, is a technology savvy, known for hacks and attacks against the government. She doesn't have any mental abilities but the knows the ins and outs of social networks and secured systems. She uses dispersion with smoke bombs and dodge moves.

I have more ideas for other characters but that's all I sketched for now. My inspiration for this would probably be the first season of Hero which was a great one!

f9c0c55a245326a3a00906983542ab37--heroes-tv-series-heroes-tv-show.jpg

As I mentioned, I would be drawing characters with much more subtle powers like in Looper. I liked how it was implemented in at first and how it played a role in the story in the end.

looper2012.0105.jpg

The characters would definitely have a love of science and research (except one). It would share that similar vibe as Big Hero 6.

BH6Team.png

In the end, I'd love to explore deeper every character, revealing unique motivations and personalities. I believe it would also help explore this futuristic world better. I'm, of course, inspired the master of crossover stories that is Marvel.

rFtsE7Lhlc2jRWF7SRAU0fvrveQ.jpg

For the aesthetics, you probably had a hint with the few sketches. I'll have to work on colored illustration to give you an idea. I'll try not to be too cliche in the way I depict a futuristic city.

As you can see, there is a lot left to do. This is only the premise of the project. Don't hesitate to shout out loud any idea you think could be cool! I'll be sure to keep you posted once I do more work on this one.

In the mean time, I still need to finish my on going comic. Hopefully by the end of the year! Thanks for passing by and for your support.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Sounds like an awesome concept. As I'm reading, I'm imagining more of a dark chaotic future than a clean well organised society. More like Luc Besson's "The fifth element" and less like Marvel and Heroes.

I like the concept and the characters, though. I look forward to seeing how things progress.

Thanks for reading through the whole thing. You're totally right! the world would definitely be closer to Blade Runner or 5th Element. Hero was more an exemple for the characters and story structure. I wouldn't want to fall into the classic dystopian metropolis. I'll have to think more about this...