Traditional Vs Digital - Making Comics

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I am back with a new blog. I'll be talking about the process drawing my own original comic, Shades of Men. As you may know I've been posting it here on Steemit and had very nice comments so far. I've tried a traditional and a digital process. Here's how it went.

01.jpg

When planning a graphic novel or comic, an artist would usually set a number of rules which would allow consistency along the process. I didn't...

Based on my quick thumbnails, I first started drawing the comic on paper, using pencil then ink. You can see above some of the tools I used for that. I went for reusable Rotring architect pens for longevity.

I would then color the page through Photoshop using a bamboo tablet.

This worked for me at the beginning, however due to the fact that I had less time working on the computer, that I spent a lot of time in transportation and that I was offered a mini-Ipad, I slowly changed my habits and end up coloring my built-up buffer of inked pages using the new apple device.

From page 14
image.jpg

Finding the right app was kind of a challenge as well, as I wanted, specifically, a layer based app that would allow me to work on uploaded pictures. After a few Google searches, I bought "Art Studio" which is perfect for me.

You would think it is over, right? Well, no.

After finishing my stack of inked pages, I tried doing the line work digitally, directly over my thumbnails and coloring these.

From page 20

1453401892.jpg

It does fit my way of life at the moment and allows me to work my pages "on the go", wherever I am (most of the time in the bus...)

To sum up, I like the organic feel of pencil and ink but it does take more time and space. Working digitally offers more flexibility and efficiency which you can't deny.

I know I'll always go back to traditional drawing for sketches, experiments and story ideas. And maybe even a long term project. Time will tell. What about you...

What is your preference? What is your way?
Let me know in the comment section below.

If you're interested in a step by step process of creating a comic page, you can check out my previous blog here. Also more sketches and story telling on my profile. ;-)

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

I have been toying with the idea, of doing some digital drawing as well. I bought a digital drawing pad from monoprice to see if It is something I would actually enjoy. If I do I may splurge and get an IPAD pro and apple pencil so I can sketch on the go.

The Ipad pro looks pretty dope. The pressure sensitivity work very well. I'm not used to draw on larger screen but with palm detection or a glove, that should do! Can't draw without that undo button now!

It's always interesting to see the difference in output when using different media. I personally prefer your traditional inks, but I'm sure with time you can master digital inks and push it in any direction you go. Thanks for sharing!

Hehe I knew it! My sister told me the same thing. These two pages might not be the best to compare. I think I'm getting a little better at digital art. But nothing beats the pressure sensitivity of a real life pen. That's a hard choice! Thanks for the comment!

This is fun! I'll have to share how I create comics, too - it's quite different from what you do ;) Resteeming, of course!

Oh that would be very interesting. Especially since have read your pages already. Thanks for your support my friend! You're the best! ;-)

This is incredible! I have such a deep respect for artists. Best of luck on this comic adventure!

Thank you very much for your lovely comment! It means a lot. I'm getting to the end of my first long form project after 5 years drawing on my free time. I hope to wrap it up by the end of the year. That would be quite an achievement for me! I should organise a Steemit event to celebrate then. ;-)

How fun!!! Be sure to post more updates! :)

This post received a 4.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @cryplectibles! For more information, click here!