Tribute to Webcomic Masterpieces

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians,

I wanted to share with you these few fan art I did for Webcomics I love.

DQmeLpqNct2BHmdRyw1XGPnXNfADaWBBU1AewysxZBiUcgV_1680x8400.jpg

When I discovered that people were putting comics online for free, the two first I stumble upon were Jason Brubaker's ReMind and Daniel Liseke's Wormworld Saga. I listened with attention their podcast called MakingComics which had tons of good tips and showed the potential and opportunities of being a free content creator online.

Later on I participated in Fan Art contests from both of them and worked on these artworks.

Jason Brubaker's Sithrah:

Second project of this artist I follow and admire. The story follows a young girl left alone in the wilderness as she meets a mysterious being helping her reunite with her dad. It is still on-going with a total of 6 books. The story is touching and intriguing as you get to know the characters' secrets along the way.

When I made this first artwork, there wasn't that much information about what was going to happen. I did choose to portray the character a little older with a bad ass look!

tumblr_nb97ymanbC1tgl0gzo1_1280.jpg
Here's another one I did with various characters appearing later in the story.
I recommend you go check it out. You can sense a Miyasaki influence in his work and the art is just beautiful!

image1.JPG

Daniel Lieske's Wormworld Saga:

This Webcomic I started reading is just so damn beautiful. It's like watching an animated movie... but drawn. It actually feels more like a graphic novel, using digital painting and cinematographic layout. The author used an infinite canvas to display the story so you're not interrupted by panels and page turns.

The story is a little more cliché but I believe it is intended for a younger audience and focuses on world building.
And what a world it is! Fauna and Flora you've never seen. Scenery you would want as wallpapers! ;-D

Here's my attempt to draw from this captivating universe.

tumblr_nc0h3sFUa11tgl0gzo1_1280.jpg

Hope you take the time to go check these Masterpieces of Webcomic.
You can check out the one I'm currently working on if you like my style...

Thanks for reading my blog.
Leave a comment if you dare.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

I like your artwork a lot! I'm gonna check out those webcomics

Thanks Uriel. I think Webcomic have a great opportunity to grow on Steemit. I like that you are doing a Steemit exclusive comic. I might explore this in the future. I pitched a crypto gag comic earlier on but not much feedback unfortunately...

I still have to make time to sit down and read through all of Jason Brubaker's work. I've only read the beginning of ReMind so far. I absolutely love his book Unnatural Talent. I think it should be required reading for comics creators nowadays!
I'll have to check out Wormworld Saga as well, thanks for the recommendations.

Oh yeah ReMind is good stuff too. It gets better and better as the story unfolds. It's a real lesson of page layout. Unatural talent helped me SO much too. Very inspirational. Makes you realize that with hard work and consistent updates you'll end up somewhere...