ART EXPLOSION WEEK 25: Theme INSPIRED BY A BOOK/ 25 STEEM in prizes / all forms of art welcome!

in #art6 years ago

BOOK.jpg

Here we are again folks, ART EXPLOSION, THIS IS WEEK 25! The theme this week is INSPIRED BY A BOOK! This one is a bit unusual but this week I would like you to create something that is inspired by a character/scene etc. of your favourite book, please mention the name of the book in your post and describe how it relates! All forms of art are acceptable, painting, illustration, photography, music, poetry, a story, a comic or any other medium you choose, be creative and surprise me! Once again we have a special sponsor and guest judge: @vachemorte who will be helping me judge! The total prize pool this week is 25 steem!

Please note: in the interest of fairness, starting this week we have a new rule, we are accepting new artwork only. This is somewhat on the honour system as we can't always verify but showing a process would be helpful!


The Rules
+++++++

  • Upvote and Resteem this post
  • Make some art (max two entries per person and please new art only)
  • Make a post of your own for your entry (add artexplosion in the tags)
  • In your post describe your medium/process a bit and for this contest the book that inspired the art
  • Link it here in the comments obviously so I can find it.
  • All entries must be submitted before Sunday January 28th at 3PM EST.

We'll be choosing the winners based on whatever tickles and touches us the most!

This is not a requirement but it would be a nice gesture to view the other entries and upvote them if you like so we can support each other and pass this on to any artists or friends you think may be interested :)

I can't wait to see what you create!

See the winners of the previous week HERE.

Sort:  

Studio art portrait. Inspired by famous book of Mikhail Bulgakov - Master and Margarita
And yes, those eyes are of cat Behemoth :)

Enjoy the beauty!


16681648_587987204723190_5697909013020784901_n.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!
https://steemit.com/bescouted/@axeman/master-and-margarita

Thanks axeman!

Well, I guess its obvious by which book is inspired (or one of the books...)


Art studio portrait. Artistic makeup and designers dress (actually wedding one) and accessories

Enjoy her coldness!


18671323_631566200365290_6498927083554451311_n.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

https://steemit.com/photofeed/@axeman/you-better-hide-for-her-freezing-hell

Here is my entry, as inspired by Edith Hamilton's Greek Mythology. I call this artwork "In Bloom", and the story behind it can be found here: https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@monicacope/in-bloom-inspired-by-edith-hamilton-s-greek-mythology
In Bloom edit.jpg

Thank you for this opportunity to showcase our art. Stay great! :)

this is really cool.

Here's my entry, where I tried to do a knitting pattern on photoshop and embed a code similar to my favorite book- A Tale of Two Cities

https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@diebitch/inspired-by-a-book

Awesome thanks!

I loved that your post had a spiler alert for tale of two cities. it made me smile :)

Here it is, I admit that the photograph is kinda sloppy but it was made with all my love, haha

https://steemit.com/art/@emicazal/for-lost-people-who-enjoy-yellow-moons

DSC05423.JPG

So nice, I love the paper with real imagery, really moving.

Thanks! <3 that makes me happy

Done. I'm a huge POTTERHEAD. I wrote a poem on HARRY POTTER.
Here it is:

https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@hungry-nomad/inspired-by-a-book-harry-potter

Cool thank you!

Hello, i'd like to submit my artwork for the competition, please be kindly invited to check it :) Everything is in the post, artwork was inspired by the book i mentioned there, but also by a neighbour's cat, which we are good friends. Created and designed especially for a gift to my Sister, printed version is on the bottom of the post. https://steemit.com/art/@centauri-alfa/da-cat-my-new-digital-art-painting

kot C L.png

I will join.

I hope you do still 4 more days!

Awesome idea! Definitely going to jump in on this. Thanks!

I look forward to your entry!

great contest julia, i'll be keeping up with it :)
goodluck to you all participating

the information that is in your post, can help me, who are the beginners in the steemit community, thank you friends

Your challenge was added to Steemit Contest Compilation (22.01-28.01): Win free SBD and STEEM (more than 50 contests!) for current week.

Thank you @juliakponsford for giving Steemians (especially minnows) a chance to get free STEEM.

Excelente

Does webfiction count as a book?

I would say yes :)

Wow another one good contest.. Good luck to everyone.

If the new rules are new art only I won't be able to participate often. I take too long to create my art and am usually doing art for clients, so I can;t really put that aside to do contest art. :(

You could always do a mandela sketch you might use later and use that as your entry for here?

Sorry about that, we found it very difficult to compare simpler pieces we know people made especially for the contest and more involved work that may have taken months, it didn't seem fair, hopefully at some point you might find some time!

Hello!! It can be character of a short story or a poem?

Sure I'll accept that, please mention where you drew the inspiration in your post!

it can be in spanish?

Sounds good!

cool thanks for sharing;)

Oooh. I love books and I love art! Will definitely join ❤️

I look forward to seeing your entry!

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Hey there, Julia! This sounds like a pretty cool contest, will try to send in something ASAP!
Cheers. :)

2 and a half days left, I hope to see your entry :)

Yup, will submit!

Good contest
Endless books and characters to choose from.
Nice!

My inspiration are the dragons in A Song Of Ice And Fire (Game Of Thrones). Here's my entry :

https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@macro-d/inspired-by-book-a-song-of-ice-and-fire-game-of-thrones

Awesome thanks!

How are the rewards for the winners split?

I split it up each week differently depending on how many winners there are. You can look at previous weeks winner announcements if you want an idea.

Can I publish my post today or is it too late?

The deadline is in 15 hours so you still have time! It is every Sunday at 3pm est same every week!

Hi, this is my entry:
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@steemotion/art-explosion-week-25-theme-inspired-by-a-book-robinson-crusoe
the book is "The Life and Strange Surprising Adventures of Robinson Crusoe"


Robinson_S2.jpg

Here is my entry for this challenge, just in the nick of time. Here is the link to the post: https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@donnadavisart/my-painting-for-art-explosion-week-25-theme-inspired-by-a-book

I upvoted and resteemed this post.

Here is the piece it is a digital oil painting

jan28contest1000.jpg

por aca os dejo mi primera participacion. espero sea de su agrado y contar con su apoyo! un saludo amigos! 295461_3506378293882_1451654643_n.jpg
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@nunopher2013/art-explosion-week-25-inspirational-theme-my-beloved-pet-and-his-stories

I'm afraid the contest closed about 8 hours ago and has already been judged, I'll still take a look at your post, the new one goes up tomorrow if you would like to join, please make sure to note the deadline it is the same every week, 3pm est Sunday!