How I draw a Female figure using crosshatching

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I have seen so many beautiful female figure studies here at Steemit. I felt inspired to do a study using the method of "crosshatching". This is a method where shading is done using a series of alternating stripes that overlap to provide shading and highlights. 

Step One...Gesture Sketch.

In digital painting I can put any background on a "layer" underneath the sketching layer. Here I chose a rough parchment texture. Then I do a "gesture" sketch - a quick set of short pencil strokes to get a feel of the "rhythm" of the pose.

Step Two - Musculature Indicators

Some features of underlying muscles and bones are indicated with a few lines. It always interests me to study the way muscles and sinews would react under certain body positions.

Step Three - More Detail

Make corrections where necessary. (As mentioned on my caricature blog, mirror the image which will show many inconsistencies and mistakes)

Step Four - More Detail

Add more detail to the shadows.

Step Five - Further Detail

I prefer adding details in feet and hands - something often glossed over in figure sketches.

Step Six - Adding Highlights

Here I used white and a color similar to the background to "mold" the sketch to give it depth and shape.

Seven - Time to Stop

OK... it was an enjoyable exercise. I wonder if anyone knows who the model is?

Thank you Steemian community for visiting my blog. 

I am keen to do this in pencil and charcoal soon. It was enjoyable and I'm glad to share it here. Looking forward to your comments and suggestions!

Sort:  

nice and beautiful sketch. really love to learn how to make sketches.

Keep watching gabriellasam. I will try and share what I have learned

Great work! Congrats