3 old drawings

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Icon2.jpg

I started experimenting with portrait drawing a little over ten years ago. Just like now, I recall loving to draw late at night while listening to mellow tracks. It was much easier at the time to pick out the flaws in the drawings I did, but digging them up after 10 years I was pretty surprised at how well they turned out.


IMG_5123.jpg

I wish I had progress pictures to show the development. I never imagined at the time of drawing that I would ever share them (or that they would last this long at all…)


IMG_5122.jpg

I love drawing.

It’s strange to write those words because it’s honestly something I hardly admit to myself or anyone else. But I’m far enough along in my life to know that it’s true.


IMG_5124.jpg

No matter what i’m drawing, the principle process stays the same:
Keep it light; suggest where the form goes.

Be careful using harder leads. They create light marks, but can easily change/damage the grain of the paper, which is impossible to undo and will always show up later in the drawing.

Instead, I use softer leads, rarely harder than HB, in combination with a blending stub to gently move the graphite around, loosely approaching the targeted shape (an arm, nose, etc.)

Draw, erase, draw, erase… the form emerges.

I’m looking forward to sharing some newer stuff after I dust off the ol’ charcoal!



-Kabba

Sort:  

Have enjoyed reading your recent posts.

Thanks - upvoted. You may be interested in a new project I have started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project [Reward Share and 200 SP Delegated][July 2017 Signups]

I saw you had great success when your article was promoted by Curie; I hope you can find similar success moving forward. Thanks for reading.

Thank you, rycharde. I'm still settling down after moving and haven't had much time to devote to Steemit, or art for that matter :(. But the fire is alive and well for sure! Comments like yours really help keep it that way. I'm looking forward to sharing more, and learning how to better support other steemians.

I appreciate your support and looking forward to learning more about your project!

OK, now I remember! (I read so many blogs these days!)
Yes, I have added you to the next contest, MAP4 :-)
Just one more writer to find....

WOW AMAZING!!!! followed

Quicksilver... yes!

Congratulations @kabbam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I wish I had honed my drawing skills more. I draw some. But I'm really lazy at it. And give up easily.