Soul, Vitality, Intelligence: (Part Three)

in #art7 years ago


ICON1.jpg

Intelligence,


The third among a set of triplets


'Intelligence', like her two sisters, is born of one pattern.

IMG_20170919_104521.jpg

Pattern.JPG



Lines are extended, overlapped, trimmed, and highlighted to reveal a unique personality with familiar genes.

intel2.JPG



With only sparse deviation, the image's character is brought forth by an intimate selection of highlights, layer by layer.

glass detail.jpg
(note the horrible gash left behind by a clumsy artist)


Selection starts with the artist, but later gravitates away from him and to the image herself.
As the image nears completion she accepts fewer, more refined layers of detail.




glass detail2.jpg

The artist's labor becomes exhaustingly passive as he listens carefully with his eyes for whispers of a line here, a streak of color there.


'Intelligence'


glass.jpg


Soul, Vitality, Intelligence


'Intelligence' and 'Soul' both flank 'Vitality', which contains the most striking feature in the set, the thistle.

I had to be careful with both flanks so that they did not overpower the thistle.

set horizon.jpg

'Intelligence' contains some fancy detailed line work, so I felt that only a variegated monochrome theme would keep it humble enough to stand beside thistle.

'Soul', on the contrary, contains simple line work, so was more accepting of a variety of color.


I'm wondering what's the better arrangement, horizontal (above),

or vertical?


setvertical.jpg



What a pleasure it was! I had the idea a few months ago but I may have never started it if it weren't for the wonderful comments I've had in the past. Thank you all!

vit.JPG

Thanks to @violetmed, I read your orchid post while I was horizontal on the floor feeling completely deflated, drained of all creative impulse. A few words an a some lovely orchids reached me and reignited the little spark.

And thank you @aishwarya, who articulates a profound and challenging design process and helped bring my own work into better focus.


...and thank you for viewing!

-Kabba

ICON1.jpg

Sort:  

awesome

thanks microsomes

Wow, @kabbam, I'm so glad my post orchid post gave you inspiration! I would arrange them horizontally to display them together. Once again, great job on this third drawing!

Thank you, violetmed. For now they're going into a folder until I can figure the proper way to frame and display them. Happy blogging! ;)

This is actually some wonderful work! Followed

@hodorhodor beep boop beep boop.