You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The book is finished

in #art2 years ago

Well, I hope the book will be, if nothing else, the beginning of something. The ideas, imaginary characters and dialogue of Ifeanyi is very promising, and if this book doesn't make it to something bigger it is at least a first step. The art of writing (as you well know) is a life long learning process, and every letter you write is taking you ahead on the stony road :) One day he might be read in many places. The talent and the sharp-wittedness is there, so maybe he can make it into the mainstream with time :)

My spirit of fatherhood never faltered, being an artist is another deal. Ups and downs are personal and not as adamantly an obligation. So the spirit will somehow always be less stable. There's more self pity, anger, self-realisation and doubt involved. But when you find the zone of pure creation where all the idiosyncrasy and vanity disappears the spirit will light up.

But you already know that of course :)

Sort:  

I'd love to read it... I think if the plot is as solid as the characters, it will be more than the beginning of something. Africa is warming up to her art and it would be awesome to have him among those who will soon go mainstream. I wish him all the best 🌟

I think we parent ourselves through parenting and that takes a lot of courage. This is what I tell myself when the downs are here and I am still expected to parent. I can only strike a balance when I can use my art as an outlet for what crops up when I sink into the complexity of raising my offspring :)