The small doors in Thor's Street

in #art2 years ago

It has been a busy day, but every day I walk 4 km to get back in shape (the distance is slowly increased and I plan to get up to 8-9 km :)

So this small post is just to show you something I noticed today while walking through the street called Thor's street in the neighbourhood called Nørrebro (The coolest neighbourhood in the world according to some).

People in this country is about 180 cm in height (me for example) but up to 2 metres is not uncommon. So many people will have to bend down to enter these buildings. I am not sure why Thor's Street have such low doors. It is not common in the rest of the area.

Here they are:

IMG_20220521_145353.jpg

IMG_20220521_145417.jpg

IMG_20220521_145453.jpg

IMG_20220521_145743.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, I followed that link and it is for real, it is ranked number 1 there, that's super cool. Even though that is just someone's opinion it is an indication that the neighborhood must be really cool. You should take more pictures of the place.

Well, you know how it is. The world suddenly find some places very interesting and then they are on to new places the next year. Somewhere in Nigeria will be on that list soon I am sure.

But as I am walking around to get back in shape I'll do some more picture-taking from this place.

The world suddenly find some places very interesting and then they are on to new places the next year. Somewhere in Nigeria will be on that list soon I am sure.

Oh yeah, true, interests keep shifting. They better shift to my neighborhood soon enough 🤓.

Yeah, take more pictures, enjoy and blab about this top spot thing while it lasts.

I love these classic doors, all different 🤩... they are not like the modern architecture where often you cannot see the door because the building is all glass and also the door...

I completely agree. There's so much imagination and care that has been going into this. The age where skyscrapers and modernist squares were gave people the idea that things had really changed is over and I often wonder why architecture didn't change much while both music, painting, dance and all other art forms did.

They did the buildings with love 😍

I like taking photos of doors and windows in different countries. Its funny how much character simple things like that can have and can give a place.

Yes, me too. I guess I have been walking past these doors many times without seeing them. But life becomes richer when you actually open your eyes and see what is right before them.

Very true indeed.

You guys will have to bend to walk through that?

Now I feel very short. 😂

:) Well, I think the door is about my height, so I can probably get through without a bend. @steevc on the other hand.

Here's the statistics: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Average_human_height_by_country :)

Some fancy doorways there. I know people have got taller on average in a lot of countries over time, but there have always been some tall folk and so doors can usually handle most of them. Mind you our old cottage had a couple of doorways that are shorter than me. I bumped my head on them at least once, but developed an instinctive duck. I am about 187cm, so taller than average.

You would have to develop that duck in Thor's Street :)

I looked it up - male average in Denmark is 181 cm and I am 183 cm. So I'm close to average (which is also the feeling I had) - but some of those young men are really tall!

I just found something saying it's 175cm in the UK. The Dutch tend to be pretty tall. I am not tall enough that I have to search around for clothes and shoes to fit me. I'm taller than my parents and my son is about the same as me despite having a short mother. A bit of randomness in the genetics.