Discover how my new painting is progressing

in #art6 years ago

Hey all,

this is the painting that is keeping me busy and the reason why I'm not posting so much at the moment. :)

You've maybe seen the underpainting for this picture I posted a couple of weeks ago.

This is how it's coming along:

Kathrina Sofie work in progress.JPG

Some of you have already discovered, this painting is about Siegfried from the saga of the Nibelungen.

I would like to transfere this old legend into a contemporary look, so I desided to do a black and white version of it.

I hope you've enjoyed the post and I'll update you about the development of the painting.
Have a nice day!

Find out more about my artwork:
www.kathrina-sofie.de
Subscribe to my newsletter!

Sort:  

Schön, wieder was von Dir hier zu sehen :-)

Danke Reinhard, auch für's resteemen!! :)

Hi Kathrina, it's coming right along. I seen what it was supposed to be from the start, and also that you wanted to show it contemporary .... i.e. the "Sword and Sorcery" look with horned helmets is getting a bit stale already, so this is refreshing to see!
resteemed

Hey Otto, :)
I have to admit that I'm already curious how the painting will turn out in the end.
You can't know that. A bit of a gambling nature as an artist is helpful I think xD.
Yes, I know what you mean with "stale".
I love the sage of the Nibelungen. There are such beautiful archetypes in it.
Thank you for resteeming!!

" A bit of a gambling nature" - yes, of course, it would be just a boring and tedious job otherwise. Even little accidents can help it along - well, the accident with the leaf didn't help him at the end, but it makes for a great story.
..... and if you lick your brushes, you can understand the animals talking ;)

Oh! Keep us up to date! Are you painting on the flesh tones?

I found this on @c-squared, so I haven't seen the earlier version, but it seems very intriguing even now : )

Thank you @ecoinstant! :)

This is the earlier version of the painting:
https://steemit.com/art/@kathrina-sofie/2y5qsj-new-painting-in-progress
It's basically the unterpainting.
It's not quite flesh tones I'm painting on but the underpainting in colour gives the whole picture a different character. That's useful sometimes.

Oh that is the opposite way I thought it was going! Interesting! Thanks for that link :)

mir gefällt die unfertige Version auch sehr gut, könnte man fast so lassen, da es etwas Futuristisches hat ;)

Vielen Dank @vikisecrets!! :)
Das unfertige Bild hat was, nicht? Weniger Arbeit wäre es außerdem, das muss ich mir doch gleich mal überlegen ob ich das fertig male.... :D

This is coming along so strikingly beautiful. I even love it in its current iteration, with the black and white with colour coming into. Just really lovely.

Thank you so much @donnadavisart! :)
I'm curious how it'll turn out. I think the underpainting will do a good job for the whole picture because it'll be just black and white in the end but with the colour underneath it'll give it a different character.

Dear Artist @kathrina-sofie ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Wonderful! :)
Thank you @fineartnow.

oh ! siegfried from the nibelungen ! that is an epic romantic character ! absolutely wonderful ! ...love how it's coming along, @kathrina-sofie <3 the body language is really lovely and captured so nicely... definitely looking forward to seeing it finished <3

Hello @veryspider, :)

thank you so much!
Yes it is Siegfried form the Nibelungen. Had that painting in my mind for ages and now I'm working on it. It's always a pleasure for me when I had an idea and than finally can start on the real artwork.

Looks like its going to be a very beautiful and exotic piece.

Thank you so much @nino28!!! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome!!
Thank you so much :).

Wieder einmalig :-) Das gefällt mir mir so schon richtig gut, könnte man fast schon so lassen, denn das hat was.