Snowmen Series - My Artwork Pt19 - Waterolors & Digital

in #art6 years ago

Hey guys,

I've become a little slower at posting blog entries, and that isn't really helping my steemit account...) I thought I'd post here the snowmen i've illustrated in the past, with the last sketch made last night. They are one of the characters I enjoy drawing from time to time..

21689040_482216635492400_5359023371747065856_n.jpg

This one above is a greeting card design (cover & inside), it is painted fully watercolor... I believe I made that somewhere between 2012 - 2014..
I guess one of the meanings that could stand behind the text of the card is that since snowmen are made out of snow, when they fall deeply in love, the love melts their ice-made hearts with it's warmth..and with the heart melt they.

Rather melancholic...somewhat beautiful, a little sad...

P.S. Notice the little caterpillar in the picture who later becomes a butterfly...

Screen Shot 2018-01-17 at 09.23.35.png

This illustration above I made a year ago in late 2016, it is also fully watercolor, it doesn't hold any specific meaning behind it, it is just a childrensbook-type illustration...

Snowman.jpg

And here's a doodle/sketch I did last night, now this is digitally painted on photoshop, fairly quickly... Although I enjoy painting on my also fairly new cintiq tablet, learning digital painting, I still remain a strong believer that digital art cannot overcome traditional one in it's beauty... although the two cannot be compared in their process of creating, as each requires for you to learn how to hold a brush, be it a digital one or a traditional - they are very different from one another. What I am comparing is the final result, I think one can achieve impressive results with watercolors, just as those are achieved with some incredible and detailed digital illustrations, it just requires a lot of practice, patience and tough work.