🎨 Mr.M Art Contest #5 ✏️ / 🎭 Week's Theme: Mythological Characters & Creatures - CYCLOPS.

in #art6 years ago

Hello Folks!

This week I want to participate in the contest hosted by @melooo182 whose theme is Mythological creatures and characters.

This theme caught my attention, because I am fascinated by fantastic stories, fictional characters and mythology ... no matter if I win or lose this contest, it gave me the inspiration to draw one of my favorite mythology characters.

CYCLOP

IMG_20180518_222615.jpg

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

cores.png

Let's talk about the Cyclops

  • They were giants with only one eye in the middle of their foreheads and a horrible temperament. According to Hesiod they were strong, stubborn, and of "brusque emotions." Over time, their names became synonymous with strength and power, and were used to refer to specially well-manufactured weapons.

  • In Greek mythology, the Cyclopes were members of a race of giants with only one eye in the middle of their foreheads.

  • Hesiod described three single-eyed cyclops who served as builders, blacksmiths, and artisans: Brontes, Estéropes, and Arges, sons of Uranus and Gea, brothers of the Titans.

  • Homer described another group of Cyclops, sons of Poseidon.

  • In the Theogony of Hesiod, Zeus releases three Cyclops from the dark well of Tartarus. These provide the thunderbolt of Zeus, the helmet of invisibility of Hades and the trident of Poseidon, and the gods use these weapons to defeat the Titans.

  • In an episode of Homer's Odyssey, the hero Odysseus meets the Cyclops Polyphemus, son of Poseidon and Thoosa, who lives with his fellow Cyclops in a distant country.

Read more about the cyclopes in this Link: Source

Splash.png

DRAWING:

The following drawing is traditional art, made with charcoal.

The tools for the illustration are the following:

  • Mechanical Pencil.
  • Charcoal Pencil.
  • HB, 3B, 4B Leads.
  • Moldable Eraser.
  • Brush.
  • A4 Opaline 135G.

AS I DID?:

  • First I made the sketch with the HB pencil, as usual because this mine is easy to erase and does not dirty the sketch.

  • I started making the eyes with the charcoal pencil, then the nose and then the mouth. In this work I did not use much the brush, normally I like to soften my work with the brush, but for this I wanted the skin to remain as rustic as possible.


  • In this part I wanted to detail many things on his face, something like a burn or malformations, so with the charcoal I made strokes, I gave volume with the brush and the moldable eraser, making lights on the edges of the strokes.

  • With the pencil 3B and 4B I made the skin tone, softened only a little with the pen, I do not want to damage the texture of the skin, with the charcoal I made the hair, but do not pronounce it as much as it does not have much hair.


The marks on his face were Cool ... Look at them more closely.

IMG_20180518_204604.jpg

For this type of details I always use a 0.5mm mechanical pencil because such small details merit a lot of precision.


  • Illustrate the neck with charcoal, highlight some very thick veins to give a more aggressive expression.

  • In the chest I did some tattoos, this is my personal brand and it really does not look bad at all.


  • I gave some shadows to the chest to fuse it with the tattoos.

  • Doing some wrong strokes is intentional, because I wanted to point out that their skin is very rustic. But the shading and the details to give it volume if I meticulously performed them.


After detailing some parts of your skin to give it roughness, I finished Cyclop!

IMG_20180518_223839.jpg

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

I have been doing a Collage for my last works, I hope you enjoy this:

Colagge.jpg

Cyclopes are fantastic creatures, we all know they have only one eye, and they are giants and I wanted to give them a very intimidating face, it looks great!

516b9662c02a07bad119dfe4d8e944bd.png

I want to thank @melooo182 for this contest and for the inspiration! I love drawing fantastic beings and this was a great opportunity!

If you want to see more drawings like this, check it out my last posts !:

(Sorry for the quality of the photos, I've been drawing at night and my camera does not have good resolution)

Blue.png

Thanks for visiting my Post! I hope you like it as much as I enjoy doing it!

Until the next time!

Steemit.png

Sort:  

I am in lurv! RESTEEMED

thanks my friend! you are a Cyclops!

Great work. I like the collage and the cyclops.

Thank you so much! im glad you like this! ;)

Congratulations @kennyvaldez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I noticed you don't include reference to your drawings - for example this one can be found here. It's a good practice to mention original source if you are using it as a reference.

Hi friend!! Oh yeah!! it is the reference, in some of my illustrations I use images as a reference but I do not usually mention it here, thanks for the tip in the same way!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KenDraw from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.