Initial thoughts on MidJourney!

in #art2 years ago

Alright, Hive! This one is a few weeks in the making. A few weeks ago, @juliakponsford was posting some of her AI generated art on Twitter. Until that moment, I hadn’t paid much attention to AI art. I messed with some basic Dall•e programs like Wombo Dream for iOS. It was entertaining briefly, but what I was seeing from MidJourney was very compelling. AI and how it will effect our lives is a regular topic of conversation between @lovejoy, @roadscape, @mada and myself. I downloaded Discord and managed to get an account created, even without an invite link.

That was two weeks ago. Since then, I’ve been full absorbing what is happening with this technology and the imminent upheaval and disruption to come. Firstly, yes, entire agencies and companies of concept artists are about to collapse. Careers will be lost; businesses will close. On the other hand, an entire population of sleeping creatives that’ve always had that secret graphic novel in their mind can begin generating and illustrating their thoughts and ideas in a way that was previously a barrier. The good and the bad depends on your current position with art.

@mada and @lovejoy got me in to blockchain in 2016 and as I wrapped my mind around the implications of this technology, I realized just how revolutionary it would be. I’m going through that again now. It’s terrifying and exciting. I find myself manically thinking of prompts in my waking hours and creating them subconsciously during my dreams. I sat @tarotbyfergus down for this almost immediately, and some time this week, I’ll be talking with @gric about his feelings as AI becomes more capable os generating art with his name as a prompt.

For tonight, I just wanted to share a few of my favorite pieces of AI generated art. My brother, @customnature and I, started a new Instagram account called @brothersalbtraum. You can follow us here on Hive and there as well.

https://instagram.com/brothersalbtraum

We both knew this was something we’d be spending much of our time learning and experimenting, so it made sense to document that for us and posterity overall. I’ve had good days and bad days, but I’m trying to imagine a possible future job for myself as a prompt writer. What are your thoughts on this insane technology? Are you discouraged or eager for the future?

hive487.jpg

Sort:  

this is surreal, creepy, and beautiful at the same time

Yeah. So very true, @renrenrainrain. There are so many that I just can’t look away from.

Where can a person get started with this?

This is all generated through MidJourney.com. You'll have to have a Discord account and you'll log in with that. From there, click, "Join the beta", to get started.

Thanks. That seems like it could be fun to play around with.

I don't understand how it all works. I guess I need to dig into it a bit more. I just can't wrap my head around it quite yet. Maybe I need a "for dummies" book to explain it to me!

It's really scary, incredibly technology, @bozz. I think you'd love it.

I used up my free midjourney credits pretty quick so I didn't try it much but it seems to have really artistic output, I'm guessing it's how the models are trained, all these images are gorgeous!

I did, too, @juliakponsford. I paid the $30/mo for unlimited but I even used up all the CPU time for that, so now I'm in the penalty box with slow generations. Thank you for introducing me to this!

Wow! I, myself, found out about Wombo Dream not so long ago and wrote a post about it last week. BUT THIS LOOKS INCREDIBLE compared to Wombo! Thanks for sharing!

This is definitely the next level up from Wombo, @rubencress. There is definitely skill involved at writing prompts, but for me so far, worth figuring it all out. Download Discord and get started on this now! You can sign up and join the beta at http://midjourney.com

Already burned through my credits (wasted a few due to emoticon-response lag). It is super impressive how AI is generating these images with a prompt. Managed to create this honey filled jar.

image.png

Link please!!! This is eerily poetic!

https://midjourney.com

I'm sure you have Discord. Just login with that and join the beta. You'll be able to start in the newbie chats using the command, "/imagine", then write your prompt. I can hold your hand with the complexities with prompt writing because it is something of an art.

A month later, are you still using Mid Journey - how are you finding it over the longer period?