Space monkey!

in #artlast year

What’s up, friends! Just keeping myself to task with routine blog posts now that I’m back from Chicago and finally feeling better after that awful flu. This was the first night I was able to get back to kickboxing and as hard as the class was […seriously felt like my first day again], it was good for the mind, body and soul. Afterwards, I made it to @caffetto for a few hours to work on some art which I’ll be laying out and explaining tonight. Overall, things seem to be on a positive trajectory even though money is tight and that, in itself is stressful. Let’s focus on the good and look at this new illustration.

As I’ve been saying for months, I received a grant to do a zine called Immutable Realms for the EOS network. They have a crowdfunding platform called Pomelo and that’s where I launched my zine campaign. One of the pieces of art needed for the zine is a concept by @lovejoy of a space monkey; a metaphor for the early adopters of the EdenOnEOS elections process. This will be featured in the zine with a write up by @lovejoy, but in the end, it’ll be also be minted as an NFT on EOS as well. Those will be distributed to members that participated in the first Eden elections.

Immutable Realms has been a really stressful project only because I’ve also been trying to manage other commitments, like Dark Pinup on WAX, @neverwel and the entire @mirrorpool company, Kong and just living life. On the positive side, I’ve gotten to form this publication in to my truest expression of art and culture in blockchain and a big part of that is all the art I’ve gotten to do. This is one of my favorite illustrations that’ll make it in to the zine. I love the depth and charm of the chimpanzee and all the EOS Easter eggs floating in the hull of the space ship.

The iPad Pro has been such a revolutionary tool for me over the years and I knew it would be. I can’t imagine ever going back to pencil and paper. Look at these graphite lines. It took a couple days to layout the composition and tonight I’ve just been inking this piece and making progress. Once this is finishing, the zine can be fully compiled and put together with Issuu, that way it’ll be shareable. Just in time for season 4 of Pomelo and I’ll most likely be going for another grant for the second issue of the zine. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Awesome stuff! That looks really great. I think I missed the last Pomelo grant cycle somehow. I usually donate each time, but I think I let it slip this time. That's great you are feeling better. I know how tough it can be to get back to working out after being sick. I had a touch of bronchitis and my last couple of workouts have been rough.

Season 4 starts next week, @bozz. I didn't really have anything new to share for season 3 so @lovejoy just encouraged me to run that round for additional funds.

The detail in the monkey is really great!!

Thank you, @malos10! It's got a ways to go, but it's coming along.

This is amazing, love the line art 🎨✨✨✨