The Ship of Theseus!

in #art2 years ago

Good evening, some, morning to others! I’m laying here in bed at 1:30a.m., but I’ve been really happy with how consistent I’ve been with posting lately. I mentioned the other night how my posting on Hive can be a habit for good, or bad. If I miss a few nights, I tend to miss several nights, but when I make it a priority I can go weeks without missing a blog. That feels great because although I’ve been under a ton of stress, having the chance to share and document my work […and the state of mind I was in while producing it], will be such an invaluable resource when I’m old and can reread these writings.

I’m sharing some new work; something I finished tonight that I’ve been chipping away at for almost two weeks. This is an important part of a two page sequential art story for the EOS zine I’ve been working on called Immutable Realms. This was a community funded arts and culture zine that attempts to tell the story of EOS […which I’m fascinated by some of the DPOS specific parallels of how Hive survived the Justin Sun take over attempt], from mismanagement to the dramatic decision for the community to reclaim the chain from B1.

The idea with this story was inspired by the famous thought experiment, The Ship of Theseus. If you aren’t familiar with this, it’s the idea of a ship having it’s boards replaced, one by one, as they’re damaged or begin to rot, when does it become a new ship? At one point is it no longer the original vessel. @lovejoy has been instrumental in helping me bring this entire zine project together and it’s far more than just the comic. @swarddraws has helped me with much of the art and I even have an interview with @gric on AI art and NFT’s.

For tonight, though, this is what I wanted to share and I’m really proud of how this turned out. Of course, I can nitpick. I wish I had more time to get some cleaner lines, but I do struggle with where to fill my blacks to create dimensional illustration and comics, but I feel that I did a decent job here. Now I’ll be tweeting this out tomorrow as it’s Pomelo’s last day of funding for season 3. If you’re an EOS holder and you’ll like to contribute to the zine, please visit the link below to help fund Immutable Realms. Thanks so much for reading! Have a great night!

https://pomelo.io/grants/eosiozine

Sort:  

Your technique and skill in your artwork is pretty impressive. I really like the style and details. Glad you are getting your posting routine rolling again. Keep up the great work.

I also just wanted to let you know that you are more than welcome to post any of your art into the Alien Art Hive Community. All art is welcome there and you would fit right in. Cheers bro!

Will do, @castleberry. I think my friend @tarotbyfergus posts within that community often.

I have been seeing some really cool posts from tarotbyfergus in there. I'm waiting for them to make a stop motion animation using all the created characters. hahah

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

You got so many talents and skills. Absolutely love your comic book style art. Kind of like James Raiz. Takes me back to DC or Marvel Comics.

Thank you, @rubencress! I always think of myself as an illustrator first. The photography was more of a conciliatory career, and although I love shooting, I always long to be drawing comics. Thanks for the compliment!

Still! Sick skills! I tried drawing myself (was pretty much inspired by MTG artwork back in the day), but found out soon enough that it wasn't for me :P