Finally Home

in #artlast month (edited)

957016E3-D941-402C-B133-EE79F754010A.JPG

Lately, I've been working on some introspective paintings that relate to my travels to South America, specifically focusing on my journey in southern Mexico. I had the pleasure of living in places like Tulum as well as a small town called Homún, a 45-minute drive from the city of Mérida in the Yucatan. These paintings for me have been helping me to reflect on experiences dealing with spirituality and the connection I felt to the land and elements.
This week, however, I found myself taking a trip down memory lane to my trip to Ghana in 2019 and I found it interesting how the picture I painted shows me in a somewhat tired/grumpy state with a sleeping neck pillow around my neck. I thought this was the perfect image to depict my mood lately, which has been that of exhaustion primarily. That isn't to say that I haven't been having great days, in fact, I feel like I'm in the best creative state I could be in, but I also feel extremely tired some days.

Anyway.. to make a long story short, this painting titled "Finally Home", is an ideal vision I have for my personal paradise and home that I seek to manifest. This is my place where I can get away from the noise and just be at peace in solitude. Also, I painted this portrait on a pizza box and it was so much fun.

To see more updates about my art and events, check me out on Instagram: https://instagram.com/jaygoldingart
To view my portfolio, visit my website: https://www.jaygolding.art