Merkaba - artwork step by step

in #art4 years ago

Hello guys!

Today I'd like to show you how I'm usually making my artworks and I'll tell you something important about each step. The thing I do not include here now is INSPIRATION - just technical process:

1. Preparing materials

At the beginning only stuff I need is basic. One pencil, not too hard nor too soft and easy to erase. One eraser very soft and crumbly. Paper used here is Canson 90g/m²

0_preparing materials.jpg

2. First composition sketch

I don't use ruler here, I just draw some simple lines or geometric shapes and try to imagine my idea within these lines. The clue in this step is to make shape which looks good in every direction. Diagonal lines will add extra movement-like feeling

1_rough_composition_sketch.jpg

3. Idea sketch

I start with focal point and make sure it's staying good with lines I drew earlier. I don't focus on details and I draw only what's most important now

2_sketch basis.jpg

4. Full sketch

Still a quick sketch but with some details. I only draw these details which help me get the feeling and which represent my idea clearly. It's not important to focus on every line yet.

3_full_sketch.jpg

Close-up:

3b_sketch_details.jpg

5. Re-adjusting composition

I work on a scan now. Soft I use is Photoshop but every tool which you're familiar with is OK as long as it has ruler option and layers.
I apply composition lines again but this time I'm doing it very carefully. Ruler helps me with making lines even and at the right angle

4_composition_again.JPG

6. Big goes first

I used some 3D model to help me with first stage of lineart. Now every move is on another layer
5_new_lines.JPG

7. Sketching again

Using old sketch as a reference, I draw detailed sketch of my idea. It is finally time for details and good material study. At this stage I'm getting closer to final look and feeling

6_complete_sketch.JPG

8. Lineart

Using composition lines and a new sketch on layers below I draw new lineart. Changing brush size gives me extra dynamic and makes a piece a bit more spatial

7_full_lineart.JPG

Without visible composition lines:

7b_lineart_clear.JPG

9. Coloring!

When I finally have a good clear lineart I can fill it with color, texture or gradient. In this artwork I decided to make it simple enough to use it afterwards as a tattoo project and place it on skin. Everything is on different layers so I can adjust every piece easier if I decide to make any changes

8_colored.jpg

10. Final touch

Adding a texture background may be a good practice with simple black-white artworks. It gives a feeling of using ink on paper and when it comes to decorating space with an artwork it works better (usually) than white.

merkaba_a.jpg

After work is done I like to play with blending modes and see if there's some extra effect that could be interesting. Here's the artwork layer (subtract) on texture layer:

merkaba_b.JPG

Everything took approx 3-4 hours with small breaks. I used Photoshop with Lazy Nezumi Pro pluggin which helps me with clear nice lines and if you're struggling with your lineart flow I highly recommend you to check out this tool.

Thanks for your time and I hope it was useful
Good day or a good night to you :)

Sort:  

Perfect 👌 nice work

Thanks! :)

A very beautiful artwork!!

Thank you Dear!