Where to Find Inspiration

in #art7 years ago

Where to find inspiration? You're looking at blank and want to start, your next Steemit post, artwork, music piece ect. and ...

Get up, make a coffee or tea... look in the fridge... procrastinate...

Nope, the blank is still there. To a certain degree these things might be of assistance in the middle of a project as a break or refresher, but never at the beginning.

I have mountains of reference material to choose from. That is a big help. It eliminates burning time looking for a starting point. When ever I see something of interest when doing something else, I grab it and archive it for later use. But even then, with all of that material, I'm looking, looking, looking... meh...

BTW, I also collect ideas on a list for Steemit posts.

Some days nothing seems to grab you. There are some "half way" good ideas, but even after short listing a few, still nothing screams pick me!

What to do?

Just pick one, any one, the first one and start, even if you're not doing cartwheels in excitement. You see, the real problem at this juncture in time, is not really inspiration, but motivation. Inspiration usually happens when we are involved in something, meaning having already started. It is process and dedication, meaning discipline, that tills the soil of inspiration. That is the difference between the amateur and the professional, the student and the master. One waits until they feel like doing it, and the other does it to get the feel.

But what about if in the end it just sucks? It has to be good.

You see, this again is the personal inertia. I can't start because it has to be good. Go take a look at all of the people we consider masters. Is every single piece of music, writing or art piece the pinnacle of their work? No, absolutely not. It's just that they have done so much work, that when you pick out their best, it adds up to far more than those who wait around for their inspiration. You can also look at athletes, or anybody who is at the peak of their field. 

The master has failed more times than the student has tried.

There are many achievements, discoveries or creative breakthroughs because people made mistakes. It is a lesson I learnt years ago. I started to notice that some of my best painting effects were unintended, ie. mistakes. Thus I started to make friends with my mistakes and relax around them, to the point where I now consider them the greatest master you will ever encounter.

I like referring to Bob Ross on this point. =)


So the answer is, just start. Inspiration isn't hiding under a rock. If the final result is not up to scratch, go start the next one, then next one... it ends up being a practice. Practice is the key to mastery, and this explains the illusion of masters always being inspired. They're not, they just put the work in.


With that being said, I'll let this post stand, whether you find it good or not, and move on to the next task. There's work to be done tilling the fields of inspiration.


figure study, Leo Plaw, 24 x 34cm, pencil on paper

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Good post and drawing leoplaw. I'm just down these days and i've noticed this is often the case after a big work who took me lot of time . A little like a post partum depression :-)

Thank you Alain!
Sounds like the only cure for you is to start a new artwork. =)

More high i set the bar , more the ground is low when i fall back but let me be clear i've never felt a real post partum depression :-)

You could try flapping your arms when you fall. =D

Well, I do like a famous colleague (sorry, forgot who it was) once stated in an interview:

I definitely only work. when inspiration comes. Thank god it does every day at nine in the morning ;-)

Well, that couldn't have been me. =)
My starting times might be a bit erratic at the moment, but at least I do start and put the time in. Earlier starting times would be better.

Hehe... being more of a night owl, I'm struggling with the earlier starting times!

Yes, I did notice you replied rather late yesterday, Herr Uhu. ;-)

uhu.jpg 🤡

I get it, you're stuck for words. 8P

Well ! I just feel like this now. Inspiration is too capricious.Thanks for Your thoughts, @leoplaw

Now is always a good time to roll up the sleeves and get to work. =)

It used to take me so much time back some time ago to start anything. I always thought the start had to be perfect (e.g. the introduction to a post).. after a while I noticed that this is just so unproductive so I do exactly what you recommend.. just start !

It is so liberating just to start. Naturally sometimes a some preparation and planning is required, but that is also part of the start. I could waffle on more about seeking perfection, but I think Dalí expressed it perfectly. ;-)

"Have no fear of perfection - you'll never reach it." - Salvador Dalí

well, that's definitely one quote that I wish I knew XD

Well, now you do! =)

"If the final result is not up to scratch, go start the next one, then next one... it ends up being a practice.

What I tell myself everyday in anything that I do. This was a great read. :)

Everything we do is practice for the next thing we do. ;-)

@leoplaw your lighting and form is excellent. I haven't drawn figures for a very long time and your work reminds me I'd better not even attempt it haha...

Thank you @overkillcoin!
But that's part of my article, just start it anyway and keep at. The only reason I'm improving is because I persist.

I know what you mean :D

I guess the skill set I'm deciding to focus on is humour and story-telling. I seem to be a natural at that. It's not that I want to give up on drawing, but I might not have the discipline to take it to the next level haha...

Yes, we do have to choose our focus, as they say, jack of all trades, master of none.

Ha! One of my favorite Bob Ross quotes.

Do you know the Bob Ross Happy Clouds Remix song? =)

Awesome insights! I too got stuck at the 'fear of failure phase' but when I started just creating and not overthinking, I started to enjoy my craft more. Thanks for this post! Keep creating 😁

Hi Jay! Yes, our craft is more enjoyable when we don't overthink it, doing so is like trying to force a square peg in a round hole. From my observations, many people place unrealistic expectations upon themselves and therefore, have failed before they start, rather than giving it a go and see how it turns out.

Probably inspiration comes unexpectedly, sometimes it's enough to look at something at least, or to hear what kind of music. Good article and professional drawing. Thanks

Yep! I Fully agree!
Inspiration and motivation are not something one should depend on as an serious artist.
Practice, dedication, hard work, repetition, discipline and love on a daily basis would be the real master makers. :D

Beautiful drawing. I love it.
Reminds me of a person I'm very fond of. :,) I could just keep staring at her. :D

Keep up the good work and full Steem ahead. ;)

Even the likes of Da Vinci and Dürer practised every day. If it was good enough for them, its good enough for me. =)

Thank you @acedawnmusic! Nice to have muse in your life. Question is, does she stare back at you? ;-)

The muse... Can't see clearly... I do have faith. :D

I know this feeling when you feel stuck.
In my case when I am thinking about new Blog ideas.

Something​ that​ helps​ me is to go through my own feed ^^
It helps​ me a lot.

I agree with you on that, having an overview of your previous work can be very helpful, motivating, if not inspirational. Most of what we do is iterative, building upon what we did previously, honing, improving.

What a comment! I agree with you and have nothing to add. You said everything.

Inspiration usually happens when we are involved in something, meaning having already started. It is process and dedication, meaning discipline, that tills the soil of inspiration. That is the difference between the amateur and the professional, the student and the master. One waits until they feel like doing it, and the other does it to get the feel.

Oh yes, that is the most important point. Brendon Chung of Blendo Games (a unique indie game maker "studio") described his process of coming up with all those extraordinary stuff with the following:

Make stuff. And then, make more stuff.

I agree 100% with Brendon. It took me years to figure that one out. But now that I have, its non stop. I phrase it this way. I have three rules:

  1. Produce 2. Produce 3. Produce

It has totally changed the quality of my work and speed of my development.

The hardest part of it, surprisingly, is not just doing it, but giving up your pride in order to do something even if that's shit.

Pride, ego, is the first thing to leave out of the equation, it is the thing that takes us out of "the Zone."

I get inspiration after some trips or outdoor walks. Sometimes it comes unexpectedly but it's not so often:(
I like the way you painted it! You are very talented)

Thank you @olgy-art!
That's why I just start and don't wait for the inspiration. I usually go for walks just to clear my head and move, otherwise I'd be sitting in the studio all day. =)

Had a problem finding a niche or topic to write about, and today just started one blog post about marketing and post it on steemit and really felt good just about doing it and all the process. :)

And now, rinse and repeat, rinse and repeat...
Good on you @modeka! Keep them coming.

Great post and discussion. Creativity for me is about problem solving. So I just start and make lots of problems to be solved. The art comes in the individual way we all solve these problems.

Absolutely, I agree creativity is about problem solving. Thank you for the great reply @ammonite.

love the way you talk about the artist's process before they actually get to it! Yep experienced it just that way - thanks for posting this. - upvoted

Thank you @granblock! Nothing beats getting down to creative work. =)

Inspiration-motivation they are so well-connected! Find the will to work on something and creativity will slowly wake up! It's really amazing the ecstasy you feel when you've already dived deep inside your work...Ah! I just love this feeling, no matter what I'm working on (drawing, story, educational post, even when I hit the gym for a training session...)

Ideas and dreams are worth nothing unless you act upon them. The joy is in living them. =)

面白いところを切り取ってるね。
あ、ボブロス。
僕好きです。

Nicely written Leo....loved it ❤️

Thanking you kindly good sir. =)

great piece! both in writing and imagery. The blank page has gotten hold of me plenty of times

Thank you @konsciousmind!
You could show that blank page who is boss and turn it into origami. =)

great piece @leoplaw! What brand of paper do you like to use?

Thank you @freshblock! No special paper, just a block of coloured card from Boesner, 300gsm. At some point I might upgrade to higher quality. I'm using Derwent Pastel pencils.

I love art and this it wonderful ful keep it on dude

I totally agree, sometimes i spend the entire day trying to figure out where to start...

I can't do that any more, that would drive me nuts. I always have something to start on, even if it is preparing canvases or frames.

It's so complicated! But, go ahead! Lets do art! =)

I love the study. I am an artist too, so I feel you.

Thank you Donna! =)

I love your technique, your so talented, and i like your words.

Thank you @wildartist! Glad to hear you liked it. =)

this is amazing.. you are genius.. always love to see brilliant work like this.. keep it up.. i upvoted..

On my case ideas comes unexpected. They are every, sometime my mind is exhausted, I just grab my phone and look around. Take photo here, there and share it on steem blockchain.

Perfect Art

beautiful drawing!!

Thanks a lot for the good article. I should create such a list :)

Another technique I use is to look around on Steemit what are the ongoing art contests. Some are inspiring for me :)

PS : upvoted + follow you now

Many thanks for your advice. Upvoted and followed!

Wow ! Very good post !