Two-Point Stance #7 - Sketches and Serpents!

in #art7 years ago

Hello once more everyone!


I bring with me today's sketches before heading off to work myself! I was still completely blown away by the support I received yesterday. I had to do something outside the box, get out of my comfort zone. What better way than to draw something I've hardly done? Haha! I'm pretty horrible with faces on traditional media, so let's tackle it head on!


I had drawn this picture many moons ago, of my character Karssa on the right and my friend's character Magy on the left.
magy karssa.jpg
This was drawn in "SketchbookPro" on the iPad
Ever since drawing this, I wanted to work on lips and eyes! The realistic style just looks so intense to me.


I wanted to do some late-night sketches! Here's a shot of Magy...
IMG_2354.JPG
It may have been drawing so late, but the lips and head shape look off to me.

...And one of Karssa as well.
FullSizeRender (1).jpg
THE EYES
Oh why...

I'm intending to line these two and color them (once I can fix the look of them!)


I also drew some 'Mon of the day today! Here's some of Rayquaza
FullSizeRender (2) small.jpg

Rayquaza is one of my favorite pokemon of all time! Gave it a few different looks here. Love the style though!
The creature itself is a serpent that lives in the ozone layer. It's a legendary that is used in the games to solve the conflict between the land titan Groudon and the sea titan Kyogre; it is also used to destroy a meteor that is set to crash into the earth in a few different games. The beast is one of the most powerful Pokemon in existance!

Rayquaza may be based on the Hebrew legends of Ziz, the unconquerable primal master of the sky. Its counterparts were Behemoth and Leviathan. Rayquaza's appearance also draws inspiration from other creatures of myth such as the Asian dragon and lindworm. Alternatively, Rayquaza matches the description of the Aztec god Quetzalcoatl, who was depicted as a flying serpent, and created the boundary between the earth (including the oceans) and the sky. Its trait of being capable of inhabiting the skies, and living there while subsisting on nothing but dew and particles for centuries, also bears aspects of the legendary Chinese xian hermit sages and East Asian dragons.

Source


I'll include my little WIP for @Kristyglas 's Dragon contest.. at least what I'm thinking of! Something different than a regular dragon!
Dragon sketch.jpg

I had the idea to make somewhat of an insect dragon - I saw a picture of a stag beetle, and had fun drawing this up! It may not be the design that I go with - but it was fun to draw regardless! It's been YEARS since I freedrew a dragon. Let's see how it comes out!


Unfortunately today was a bit of a quick round of sketches. But I couldn't break the chain now! Lots of things to work on for the future.

I hope you all have a great evening! Enjoy the night!
Thanks for reading! ~

thank you!.gif
cooltext251634093601205.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by linebacker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

These are looking so great! Loving all these sketches and WIP's. I think the fact that you are trying out so many different styles is so wonderful! I try to do it when I can (although I haven't been doing that lately)... because it helps us grow as artists. ^^

Rayquaza like the pokemon Rayquaza?

Yep! I just wanted to