Nyarlathotep Speed Painting Video

in #art7 years ago

Well it's been a while since I made a video of a painting. You guys are owed one. Here is another Lovecraft inspired painting of the god Nyarlathotep.

"And where Nyarlathotep went, rest vanished, for the small hours were rent with the screams of nightmare." - HP Lovecraft

Here is the process video sped up:

Facegook: https://www.facebook.com/jontorresart/
Website: http://www.jontorresart.com/
Gumroad: https://gumroad.com/jontorresart
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/jontorresconceptartist

Sort:  

I loved getting to see that take form! It sort of seemed like you just pulled it out of the void. Wonderful colors and great composition. Upvoted and resteemed

Thanks. I was kind of making it up as a went along really. Haha.

Very scary. I love HP Lovecraft's novels, but didn't see much art about it. The movies were terrible, but this is good for a comics.

I'm actually working on a personal project that is a comic heavily influenced by Lovecraft. I'm pretty much trying to mash up the cosmic horror of Lovecraft with the weirdness of David Lynch in it.

that is crazy, waiting for it :)

Okay, when the time comes that I have curated my Magic collection down to where I want it, I am going to have to commission some original tokens or something. You throw together exactly the look I want for something like that.

Haha, I've thought about making custom tokens. I'm not a magic player myself though, just never got into it. But I think it would be cool to release a deck of tokens that could be used by people with my art on it. I saw one artist that recently made some tokens and printed them by kickstarting the project.

Wow, you make it look easy. I took a drawing class last year and I learned a lot, but I have not been able to transition to a graphics tablet. I need to get back into it. The last thing I drew was a walrus as Andy Reid (coach of the Kansas City Chiefs) haha... because he looks like a walrus, of course. =)

It's just practice. I've been studying art for like 6 years in a serious way. I used to be pretty garbage at it myself. As for a tablet, I actually use a Wacom Cintiq. They are pretty cool because you draw directly on the tablet surface. It feels more like traditional drawing than looking at a screen and not your hand like with most drawing tablets. I used to use those and got used to it... But hated it too.

Ahh, yea I've heard of those. Newegg just had a deal on a Cintiq spinoff the other day and I almost pulled the trigger. Do you recommend a particular model?

For kicks, here's the Andy Reid - Walrus drawing I was referring to:

Andy Reid as promised

Haha, nice drawing. I use the Cintiq 13HD which is about 2 or 3 years old now. Apparently the cintiq companions are pretty good. As for knock offs, I used the yiynova msp19u before. It was... meh. That was years ago and the knock-offs could have become better. I haven't needed a new tablet so I haven't really been keeping up with them.

creepy art is my fav :) similar style as mine lol. definitely earned my follow

Amazing art.

Upvoted :D