School Week 10

in #art6 years ago (edited)

So it is now week 10 of the spring semester. Man am I tired and I have felt like the quality of my work has slipped just a bit due to the tiredness. But I'm trying to rally my strength and finish the next 5 weeks as strong as I possibly can. Let's start with my figure drawing class. Here is one study I did for my anatomy class focusing on the back of the figure and the intricacies there.

Torres_10_2.jpg

We also attempted to study and learn about the back of the legs and the calves area.

Torres_10_1.jpg

In my perspective class, I worked on two point perspective again, but looking at a more extreme angle, in this case, a downward one. First I started with the following thumbnails. There was no real requirements on a specific theme or subject so I thumbnailed out whatever ideas popped into my head that I thought would be interesting.

E10_1_Torres.jpg

After that, I went through a few stages. Here are some back and forth ideas I had as refined the Egyptian scene one a bit more. I was really struggling with this one and I restarted at least 3 times. Eventually I found that working about 50% digitally and the other 50% traditionally was better. Here are some steps I took to refine the image:

Sketch.png

Stage_01.jpg

Stage_02.jpg

I was trying to make those weird pointy hats many Egyptians are wearing in statues but it was just not working. So in the final image, I changed the head all together to be that of Anubis. This made more sense story wise as Anubis is the god of the dead and I wanted to add that mummy on a table there as well. Like the mummy is being prepared in one of Anubis' temples.

A10_Torres.jpg

I'm still not 100% satisfied with the image, but I feel better making these changes than I did when I started the image. For how much of a fight the drawing was, I'm happy it turned out acceptable at all. Sometimes you just get one of those drawings that is just really frustrating.

Lastly, here are some clothed figure drawings I did. I took some photos of myself for reference and tried to draw them. I like the first two here while the last two are kind of bad, but I'll share them anyways.

10_2_Figure1_Torres.jpg

10_2_Figure3_Torres.jpg

10_2_Figure2_Torres.jpg

10_2_Figure4_Torres.jpg

Here are some 5 minute clothed studies:

10_1_5min_Torres.jpg

10 minute clothed studies:

10_1_10min_Torres.jpg

And finally, a 20 minute study:

20180416_213928.jpg

I'm glad this week is over and that the end of the semester is drawing ever nearer because I'm just tired. I'm doing all of these studies, working full time at my day job (which is a very physically demanding job at times), and doing commissions for clients still. I thin I'm just going to relax today on my day off.

Sort:  

Wow. These works are nice. I understand the feeling. It's stressful, I know but it's all worth it. At least you know it's not just a waste of time. You are still learning everyday you just need to hang in there. Work hard and make the end better than the beginning. Better days are ahead.