Hands Of Fate: A Poem by Torico

in #art6 years ago

Hands Of Fate

 the hands of fate
 the hands of fate would tie in knots err they touched my face
 their spinning threads would come undone in horror and disgrace
 destiny lies not in my path to wait for my approach
 she beckons to me only so she can bum a smoke
 stars do not shine on me with their brightness or their fame
 and if I should see one fall my wish would come up lame
 coincidence is not happy, nor has chance been kind
 and if luck were on the left I’d be hard to find
 should I live in the north the south would be the place
 and if I could but run I’d always lose the race
 forever have I existed not where beauty dwells
 and if my lover was a friend he’d surely run like hell 



This amazing poem,"Hands Of Fate" has been written by the one and only @torico AKA bork the pirate rapscallion AKA rabbit puppy AKA rabbit dog AKA rabbit puppy pirate

A Few Questions:

I decided to ask @torico some questions about the poem.

Question 1: 

What events transpired that made you want to write the poem "Hands Of Fate"?

Response 1: 

" I have no idea how many particular situations, it's just an underlying theme at various times in my life. If i was to really work on the poem, i'd probably scrap it as its not my favorite and not horribly adroit. bit cliche in fact. i consider it a bit of a shit poem. As an aside, i think you would have to know my work to understand what i consider a good poem to see the difference"

Question 2:

 Were you the person in the center of all these situations presented in the poem, or are they based off more than just yourself?

Response 2:

"The poem is tongue n cheek satire on a series of personal events in my life, but it's a feeling that I feel life many people can identify with, somewhat like the song, "isn't it ironic?" by Alanis Morisette, but not written quite as well. It's not a poem that I worked very hard or long on so I consider it 'unfinished', and something that was true at the time I wrote it but maybe not so much any longer."

Question 3:

What situation would you consider the final straw that resulted you into making a poem?

Response 3: 

 "I'm not sure there was any final straw. I'm an emotional writer, so when i'm feeling a strong feeling I will just sit down and spit out feelings onto paper. sometimes it comes easily, sometimes its forced out and I need to rewrite several times. this is a bit of both."

_____________________________________________________________________________

I also made a little animation on this poem to start to develop some new skills. If you do end up watching this turn up your volume. There was a LOT of issues that happen while creating this and a few hours went into learning the program. I would like any suggestions.  I already learned so much by doing this animation of the poem! I think for the future poems I try to animate I will try to add more movements and better voice acting!

 This was extremely fun to do but boring and tiring at times, My goal is to create at least one a week and grow a following through them! 

 I wouldn't been able to do ANY of this without the consent love and feedback from my fellow Steemians! So thank you. 

Sort:  

Great post upvoted indeed 😃 lovely

Thank you for reading it! More to come! :D

This post is so great, from the animation to the well thought out questions and amazing insights from the depth of @torico's answers - so much quality!

Alanis Morisette is the best, after reading the parallel in your answer, it was fun to go back and read the piece with that additional later of perspective.

Thank you so much @lucy-and-dan for putting this together - thoroughly enjoyed!

Thank you for checking out the post it really does mean a lot to me!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you for this @isaria I appreciate it so much!

Botty love these lines

should I live in the north the south would be the place
and if I could but run I’d always lose the race

Botty full hug to you :]

thank you for this dan! i hope it will be one of many in a series, the first animated punk poem eva!!

Thank you for giving me the poem and answering my surprise questions! Many more punk poem animations to come LMAO

Pretty neat poem. Especially enjoyed your little mini movie/animation. Keep it up good stuff.

Thank you so much! It means a lot:)

What a great idea. Providing critique and exploring prose further is so valuable as a writer. Do you critique short stories too?

I have thought about doing short storys as-well I would like to try to take one on. It would take a while to provide the little animation I do.

The video is a nice touch. I know you mentioned it but the only issue was the low sound.

Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks! I am gonna try to fix that issue when I make my next post!

nice post here

This post has received a 0.53 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lucy-and-dan.

This post has received gratitude of 0.70 % from @appreciator thanks to: @lucy-and-dan.