I paint to let you into my soul

in #art7 years ago

As I am new here, and browsing, I was drawn to Art under Tags and Topics.
In perusing it, I wanted to share a set of paintings I'm doing, one of them finished, one unfinished. I was inspired by a painting I saw some years ago, but I wanted to bring only part of it alive, and leave the rest. The one I saw had more emphasis on the sexual, and what I wanted to bring out was the feminine power, and exuberance of living that I saw in it. I started with a pencil sketch, and once I felt satisfied with that, I started painting. I painted the body first, then the face, then finished with the hair. This piece took two years to complete because I'd paint on it, then hang it on my wall where I saw it often. I'd walk by it, chat on the phone where I could see it, and critique it to death. I'd make mental notes of this or that, that wasn't quite right, and then I'd paint on it again, and critique it for months again. I did that until the only thing I can critique as not being exactly what I wanted it to be, I refuse to change. It's her profile. I don't mind it, but it's not perfect, to me. Here she is, and she goes yet unnamed.

IMG_7981.JPG

My painting style is very apparent here. I love the abstract, and messy brush strokes, as well as precise lines, and clear definition. As I was working on it, my younger sister was the person I'd consistently show my progress to, and as it neared completion, she asked for a print of it. I felt I could do better than that, and I told her I'd paint another one, and give her the one I liked less. I haven't gotten there yet, but she's all too happy to take either one.

For the second, I thought I'd do one with fire in her soul, and purple hair with teal highlights. I was very careful to make the profile exactly perfect on this one, as purple is my favorite color, and I think I'll want to keep the second. A good friend has requested a third, made of waves and galaxies. Hopefully, I'll get to finishing the second, and starting the third.

IMG_7982.JPG

In this second one, you can see the texture, whereas you can't see it in the first. The body has thick paint, to make those brush strokes apparent, and pull your eyes into her body, while her hair and face will be smooth and vibrant so that your eyes get trapped in the whirlpool of them. When I paint them, I often turn them sideways, upside down, and look in a mirror so that I can see the imperfections easier. I learned that from a professional painter, and have seen the quality of my work raised to a level that I am very pleased with, just with that trick alone.

The first painting, especially, speaks to me of joy. Not just joy, but of contentment, power, self-assuredness, the master of her existence. I hope that is also conveyed in the second as well. I'd love to hear what they speak to you.

I hope you enjoy my work, and I'd love to hear from other artists, so I may follow you, as well!

Also, if any of you know the best way to make a very good copy onto a canvas, please share! I'd love to give the finished one to those who have requested a print of her... and a name... any ideas for a name?

Sort:  

Wow! Just gorgeous art!!!

Thank you so much!!! 😃

I just had another look at your art and it reminded me of something that i think is awesome. Maybe you will too...

It's called "Freedom Girl" and it is a 1 ounce silver coin. Have a look if you can (just google her). I would send a pic if i knew how to do it from my iPhone...
anyway, she is a favourite among the silver enthusiasts group and she is gorgeous. Enjoy!

Cheers! from @thedamus

Wow, I LOVE your work. I am going to think on a name that does that piece justice. I'm big into art. I'm primarily a colorist, but I'm dabbling in paint and drawing just not brave enough to share it yet. Lol.
I found out about you via your pal @joshua-pace by the way :)
He's in my steemit dreamit fb group which you are welcome to join - the goal is to help you gain an organic following.
Resteeming this

Oh wow!! Thank you for all of that!!! You'll have to share some of your work with us when you get there 😃 Josh is pretty great huh! And yes, I'd love to join your FB group! You are So Great!!!! 😃

Thank u! You're in. Feel free to post all your blogs there for increased visibility. I personally have not found one blog our members posted that wasn't worthy of at least an upvote and comment from me.

Welcome to Steemit fellow artist! WOW is all I can say. Your work is just gorgeous and I very much look forward to seeing more of it. Definitely following and resteeming♥

Thank you!!! Then I'll share more of it very soon!!! 😃 What encouragement!!!

@tabzjones is a very talented multi-media artist that I've been following for what i think will be two years this fall. Can you believe I've been stalking you that long ? Lol

I like these painting. I could see them, especially the top one with the deep red becoming a logo for a new brand. Maybe try to make it you profile picture...that would be very cool as well.

For the profile pic suggestion I mean just the head part, crop out the boobs.

Oh thank you!! I hadn't thought of that, but I like it!! 😃

Beautiful paintings, well done! I like the stories about them too. Thanks for sharing. :)

Thank you so much!!!

Congratulations @lysiebird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

beautiful! :-)

Thank you!!