Fairy Flowers

in #art2 months ago

8.png

“Fairy Flowers” - Acrylics on canvas, 2024

The end of the winter hit me. My sleep got lost in strange time zones. I fixed it, but my energy levels dipped so low this past week that I felt like going back to the dream world upon awakening. The fuck?! It is going to be ok soon, I am sure. Downs a handful of supplements.


While it might appear that I am distracting myself as of late, I believe it is not a complete loss. These distractions might become useful at some point. Plus, I try to combine them with painting or drawing, which is how this painting was born.

It only took me a full year of nearly 0 artistic projects to finally feel like I want to create again. Yay! That is how life is sometimes. I don’t understand it, but I accept the ebbs and flows. I don’t want to be too hard on myself.

17.png

Materials utilized: canvas 20x20 cm, Amsterdam acrylic paints by Royal Talens, van Gogh synthetic brushes by Royal Talens - 296; 295; 294, Faber-Castell pencil 2B.

The inspiration for “Fairy Flowers” came from a photo I captured in my flower garden last year. The main focus of the photo and “Fairy Flowers” is Dahlia called Bacardi. It is one of my favorite dahlias, and I especially love the shape of the blooms.

While I followed the general shape of the dahlia and elements from the background of the photo I took at the start, soon enough, the play with the paints, brushstrokes, and tiny taps here and there took me all the way to the fairyland. It was a joyous, slow-paced process that unbounded my creativity once more.

13.png

Does anyone else love how the palettes turn out at the end of the painting process?

Acrylic paints on canvas are one of the mediums still fresh and unfamiliar to me. Watercolors and inks have captivated most of my creative energy so far. “Fairy Flowers” is my second finished painting done in this medium. And oh my, I still have much to learn about it!

I would say acrylics are much more unforgiving compared to watercolors or inks. They are more difficult to control due to the texture of the paints and the texture of the canvas also comes into play when adding finer, more precise details. The blending of the colors seems trickier with acrylics. I noticed that I would need to pause between layers often for them to dry before moving further. That ensured everything from turning into complete mush or erasing the details I wanted to keep.

I hardly used any water in the painting process, but I probably will experiment with that more next time to see what kind of effects I can achieve. I used water more to rinse my brushes in between colors than anything else.

7.png


“Fairy Flowers” turned out cute. I am still finding how I want to speak in this medium. With every new creative avenue, I am placing myself at the start and finding the path from there. I love it. I am curious to see how they will develop and affect each other in future. I believe that this diversity will morph into something bigger eventually.

I have a pile of blank canvases of various sizes that have been sitting around collecting dust and waiting for their time. For a while, that pile taunted me every time I passed it. Now, I am ready to annihilate it!

10.png

9.png

12.png

15.png

Thank you for being here! Hopefully you have a lovely spring?! <3

14.png

Song of the day: M83 - Holograms

Sort:  

These colors resonate with me too ❤️

Yay! That makes me happy! Virtual hugs to you dear Zirochka!

Que bonito amiga muy realista 😍

¡Muchas gracias! Me alegro de que te guste :)

I have seen them at our local store.

image.png

They are a brick & mortar store we go to, but they also have a online version

https://www.texasart.com/

My wife and kids go here.

But they also buy online from here:

https://www.dickblick.com/

They mostly use this brand

image.png

For me, I do the washing! Nothing ruins brushes and furniture like dried acrylics!! :)

Yeah, the Royal Talens Amsterdam ones are quite popular here. I am not sure how different they are from other brands as I am not that experienced with acrylics yet. But I have seen the other brand you linked as well so maybe I will get them to compare :)

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you! ^^

Does anyone else love how the palettes turn out at the end of the painting process?

It looks very complex and it's like it's an art.

The flower is simply stunning. How long did it take you to draw this?

It looks very complex and it's like it's an art.

Looking at them gives me some ideas for the future pieces. There is a lot of potential for building texture with these paints that could be really cool.

The flower is simply stunning. How long did it take you to draw this?

Thank youuu! Since I like to work without setting any deadlines or time limitations, I also had a lot of freedom to work very slowly on it. It is quite small, but it took me about five days to complete, and to feel like I could stop poking at it.

Of course, you are more creative and relaxed when you don't have a deadline. 5 days is a normal time for a piece like this. I look forward to seeing your next art :)

Your painting skill is top notch
You’re doing a great job
Keep it up!

Thank you so much! :)

I want to dedicate even more of my time improving my craft and I am having so much fun with it! So hopefully there will be more to come soon.

Very nice job, I appreciate your painting skills

Aww, thank you @momins! I am so excited about painting with acrylics now! Hopefully, I can dedicate enough time each month for at least one painting. That is my goal. That should boost my skills with it too! :)

Such an amazing artist you are.... i thought it a 3d flower.... seeing your hardwork, it really appreciable....

Thank you! That is so sweet. I love dimensional, layered stuff and I am pretty happy with the depth I got through this piece. I hope to take it even father with every future painting :)

Amazing piece!! At the beginning I thought it was a photography!! Very beautiful! Congratulations!

Thank you for your kind words @belug! I appreciate it! I have so much fire to work on more paintings and I am so happy with this one :)

This is beautiful!

Aww! Thank you Taraz! I am a bit overwhelmed with reading all these lovely comments since my inner dialogue isn't always so uplifting and confident. Be it my writing or my artworks, or anything else.

I am glad that you have added it here - you should add more!

Woah, that's a beautiful painting! Right in time with Women's Day too! Love the small details :)

Aww, thank you Gabriela! That was a lucky timing and coincidence with the theme I had in mind for this painting ^^ Hehe!

Still awesome 💕

Congratulations @m31! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery