Oil Portrait of Dietrich Bonhoeffer

in #art3 years ago (edited)

bonhoeffer.jpg

This portrait was painted in oil on Arches paper. Dietrich Bonhoeffer lived from 1906-1945. He was a pastor and theologian who strongly opposed the Nazi regime. Bonhoeffer was executed by the Nazis at the age of 39. My uncle Jon commissioned this painting a few years before he passed away. Another relative currently possesses the artwork.

After waking up way too early, likely due to the sound of construction under my bedroom floor, I was a wreck all day. Fortunately, I didn't get a cluster headache. But I did make a bunch of annoying little errors at work, which I then had to go through and methodically correct. And now I don't trust myself to do anything important until after I've gotten some sleep.

Also today, and all of the past week, an ex girlfriend has been calling me every few hours around the clock. We were together for a year and broke up over ten years ago. Then she stalked me. For years after that, we had no contact. Then she got married and we reestablished a distant friendship. In hindsight, this was a mistake. Over time, every conversation became focused on her drama so I stopped answering the phone. Now, she goes on multi-week binges of calling me and leaving nonsensical voicemails that I have to erase. If she had something important to say, she could use email. Instead, keeps calling.

Low level stressors like this are no fun. Today was one of those days where almost everything felt like a low level stressor. I did have a nice hour at the coffee shop, though. One friend told me about his new book and another friend asked me about NFTs. The weather was perfect. I was sleep deprived and grumpy, but the coffee was good.

I made little progress on Rstory today. That's probably for the best as I've been spending too much time on this project. Plus, the project's next step is in someone else's hands. So it's a natural moment for me to take a break from it.

It may be time to start a new painting. Maybe I'll buy a canvas tomorrow. Along with some titanium white and some cadmium yellow. If I make it as far as the nonprofit art store, I'll also get a few of their $2 bristle brushes. I don't know what kind of picture I'll paint, but I know what supplies it'll require.

To be honest, I'm not quite done looking at the last picture I painted, which has been sitting on the easel. It's dry to the touch. I have a great, gaudy gold frame all ready for it. Still, I haven't yet moved it. Maybe it's time.

Sort:  

That is a fascinating oil painting of Bonhoeffer whom I admit I never heard of before today. Maybe the portrait will be passed on to you down the road if you mention wanting it to your relatives.

Excuse me for commenting on your post and I'm not making light of your situation with your ex girlfriend when I say your life sounds like episodes from "Two and a Half Men"

Hope you have a great stress-free week! @mada

Upvoted and curated

Thanks. Haha, yes, my life can be comical: )

Congratulations @mada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP