How to Turn a Photograph Into a Painting Using Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is a post about how to turn a photograph into painted art using Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop.

This piece is called: "Nighttime Things."

This is an ode to my nighttime beauty routine! All the lovely things that contribute to making my nighttime routine delectable.
I've always loved my skincare routines. They make my face happy and they make me happy. I feel clean, pampered and glowy!! How does it get any better?

How I turned this photograph into art:

  1. I started by photographing these items. Lighting it and arranging the items until I was pleased.
  2. I then took the photo into Adobe Lightroom and made a few adjustments to remove any obvious things. So for this picture, I increased the exposure (lightened it up) because it was a little dark. Once I was satisfied, I took the photograph into Photoshop because Photoshop gives me adjustments with Levels I can't seem to get in Lightroom sometimes.
  3. In Photoshop, I adjusted Levels, Brightness, Contrast, Exposure, Whites and Color Balance to get the picture to pop and look crispy. I used a layer mask for each of these so I could keep on adjusting if I felt like it.
  4. I copied the Background layer and applied the Liquify filter which gives it the groovy wavy look. How fun!
  5. I copied the Liquified layer and applied the Oil Paint filter which gives it the painterly look.
  6. I then saved the photo in Photoshop which brings it back into Lightroom automatically, yay!
  7. In Lightroom, I applied another filter to give it the brighter orange / yellow look. This filter consisted of adjusting the temperature of the picture to make it more yellow. I decreased highlights to -100, upped shadows to +100, clarity to +57, and vibrance to +31 to really really bring out the paint. This is the look that I like. You can of course adjust to what you like and what is fun for you!
  8. Finally, I cropped the photo until I loved it.

Ta da! All in a moment's work. How does it get better? Art art art!

Here is the result, work of art!

IMG_1671.jpg

Here is the before picture:

_MG_1669 - original.jpg

Would you consider upvoting, resteeming and/or following me on Steemit so you can see more lovely content like this? It helps support me and keep me going and I love putting more joy, fun and love out into the world.

Lots of love,
Mariana

Sort:  

Nice I love doing that I also use apps on my phone if you have an iphone or Ipad there are lots of neat apps

Ooo yeah true story. Which iphone apps do you like?