Kashchey the Deathless . Slavic Fairytales - The Club of Antiheroes

in #art6 years ago

Kashchey the Deathless is one of key characters of Slavic Fairytales. He is the son of Czernobog (Slavic deity whose name means "Black God"). Kaschei maintained his life and immortality through the removal of his soul. Taking it from his body, it was said he hid it in a needle, inside an egg, in a duck, in a rabbit, then locked it in an iron or crystal chest, and buried it under a green oak on an island. There is no iconic image of him so I have a little freedom of creation. This character inspired Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov to wright a one-act opera in 1902
Kaschey2.jpg

Drawing antihero is a little bit out of my comfort zone . I choose to draw Kashchey because he is not a gray side character, but creature of the dark. In this work I use brown conte, sharpie marker , HB pencil and watercolor paper .

This artwor made for Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes https://steemit.com/art/@zeroooc/sketch-off-contest-edition-2-the-club-of-antiheroes . Thank you to @zeroooc for organizing it.

kaschey3.jpg

Kaschey4.jpg

kaschey6.jpg

kaschey7.jpg

kaschey8.jpg

kaschey9.jpg

Kaschey1.jpg

Thank you for looking!

Sort:  

FANTASTIC! This is perfect @marinaart, I absolutely love it!

Thank you for coming by and looking!

Awesome drawing as always ;)

Thank you!

He is incredible.
Good luck with the contest! <3

is amazing!

Thank you. You have very beautiful entry yourself.

Your work techniques are amazing, I would like to leave the graphite and experience new techniques, I rarely dare to use color.

You can try to work with sepia sticks and sepia pencil. The color is dark brown and it very soft( plus it did not give you shine that graphite usually do). I just have only watercolor paper in my house at this moment( waiting for an art supply order to arrive) and pencil would look terrible on it.

Another very strong entry @marinaart!
You'll fancy your chances after winning last time! I really like where you went with this. Picking an unusual character (at least in the public eye), especially one that is steeped in slavic folklore is a terrific choice. He looks like he could be a boss in the Witcher. Good use of lighting and mood too. The character itself is great for a card of kings and I appreciate that you included so much of your process. You have done well and thanks for participating!

Thank you. I am glad you running this contest so I can challenge myself with something I would never pick up on my own :)

This is some really nice work! Im glad you stopped over coz it reminds me to stop by :)

Nice post♥♥

Thank you very much!

Wow... This is stunning... love the style of penmarks and how you made the glow POP like crazy... amaze-balls!

Thank you! I like to draw with pens:)

Oh this is amazing!

Thank you very much for the nice words!

Wow, this is awesome, he looks bad ass. I also really like what you did with the "K"! Pretty sweet!

Thanks. He is 100% bad ass.

This is awesome!