Pencil portrait of a old woman-portrait drawing/shading study-showing the process step by step

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi there, i am about to share another pencil drawing of mine.
This time i challenged myself to draw this portrait of an old lady.
Drawing a smooth face is easy because the shadings are kind of normal and easy.
But for this one, it wasn't easy. There were a lots of different shading in a single place so it took a long time to figure out the whole drawing.

Final portrait:
IMG_20180429_2257091.jpg

It took a long long time. since i drew my last portrait, i have been working on these. after i finished, it was such a relief.
i used hb, 2b,4b,6b graphite pencil, on normal art paper, paper napkin as blending tools as usual......

first i thought i would try to draw the whole face, the whole hair, all the visible hands but by the time i finish till that, it was four days already....
so i decided to stop there. so i cut off the rest and erased them.
before i used to present art in another way.... not in a box like this.... now i think that instead of a full paper size drawing or a drawing without any edge, i could put it in a box so it would look like a photo.....

I took shots while drawing so i can show you the process:

IMG_20180427_154724.jpg

IMG_20180427_160209.jpg

IMG_20180427_162859.jpg

IMG_20180427_170114.jpg

IMG_20180429_103100.jpg

IMG_20180429_105617.jpg

IMG_20180429_113235.jpg

IMG_20180429_213626.jpg

IMG_20180429_215825.jpg

IMG_20180429_223656.jpg

IMG_20180429_225636.jpg

IMG_20180429_2257091.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING MY BLOG
FOLLOW ME TO SEE MORE OF MY ART IN YOUR FEED

Sort:  

that's amazing!

That's very true.

thank you too

Really fantastic work for sure! I love how the eyes convey so much emotion. Looking forward to more!

sure... i will be posting my next art as soon as i am done

wow, that is truly amazing, Loved how you put the whole thing in step by step, I kinda doodle, not that good but it's more about having fun and learning for me. I'll have to follow you. Nice post.

thank you.... i like to doodle too.... i will be following you hoping to see some doodle art in my feed

I have a crappy camera but I will try to take some pics of my stuff and post it.
Thank you

sure.... my camera is not that good at all.... its a smartphone camera of 5megapixel

Look at my artwork.. just a very simple one just using leaves :D

31113146_1821605194567459_175370202_o.jpg

that is very creative, thank you for sharing

yours is much creative than mine. :)

mine is not really creative at all.... i used a reference photo from google

wonderful drawing , thanks.

Nice old woman pencil portrait and thats amazing , i like it , good job

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @masummim50

Follow my blog @powerupme

you put that three lines everywhere, you did that before in one of my older post

I naturally like paintings but sometimes i just get off and lose interest but there is always that one painting that's going to bring me back..and i get all agitated starting to check for more on internet or just start filling the house with arts..,
It's really beautiful @masummim50! Thanks for bringing me back:)

thank you for so many kind words

I love her expression. Congratulations!
(upvoted and followed) :)

Great job, @masummim50! It's not common to see this.

thank you

I am awesome, Gread art!

you are awesome?

i already make a practice step by step ,thank you.

thank you for visiting

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

really very interesting article .... very beautiful

thank you so much

thank you too, please guidance and upvote its for @caspersteem karna masi baby in steemit thanks

thank you too @masummim50, please guidance and upvote its for @caspersteem karna masi baby in steemit thanks

Hola @masummim50,excelente tecnica ...me gustaria tambien pintar a mi abuela ..te tomare como referencia..saludos hermano
Hello @ masummim50, excellent technique ... I would also like to paint my grandmother .. I will take you as a reference ...

thank you and this is not my grandmother

hola si lo se que no es tu abuela ...pero quise hacer referencia al dibujo ...saludos

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Sir, Your post has been very good so I like it very much. So I think I have to learn something from it. thanks

are you an artist?

The drawing is not good for me. But the creator of this has work is a great talent that must be supported!

thank you?

amazing job , I like it your art.

thank you magician.... you can follow me so you can see my future art post in your feed directly

What a beautiful drawing, my most sincere congratulations. Many successes and thanks for sharing it with us, a big hug @masummim50.

Eres todo un artísta. dibujas espectacular. mi pasión es dibujar, pero no detallo bien los rasgos. te felicito y te apoyo. Te sigo.

english may be?

Usa traductor en español

still don't understand

excellent, taking care of the details, including the wart of the little finger

yes,,,, thank you.... finally someone actually "saw" the art.... everyone else is just putting a comment

Excellent work. I admire people who know how to draw, especially since the pencil to transfer the portrait. Me this not given

thank you. i am sure you have other talents

Yes, I have a hobby: cross stitch, knitting. In my blog I sometimes post my works

i will try to check out your blog

I really like the closeup framing. The eyes and the cheeks are so strong , and it really emphasizes that.

WOW is amazing you have a talent fantastic

Nice post, success is always for you friend

thank you

You are welcome

your drawing is amazing, excellent technique with realism, good proportions, I also draw realism and you are incredible

thank you. i am following you now hoping to see some amazing arts done by you

I like how you show the wrinkles around her eyes. Nice portrait! Glad I stumbled upon your blog. My feed needs more art.♥

thank you... i am glad you noticed the details

Woow, really nice your pencil portrait. Carry on.....

thank you. i will

This is really beautiful. I love it so much.

Excellent pencil sketch! The presentation of each step also amazing! Especially use of different types of pencil is a good tutorial. Thanks for all.

thank you for commenting.... if i had good camera i would have made video tutorial

Se ve muy bien, los ojos me llaman la atencion, bien despiertos y destellantes, parecen de una persona mas joven

i have no idea what you wrote... i only know two language and yours isn't one of them.... perhaps english may be?

really amazing

Wow, How amazing art this is. Really Its looks so amazing.

Looks exactly like my Grandma 🙂

really? i searched in google writing "happy old women" and choose one of the photo as a reference photo for the sketch.... it totally can be your grandma

Haha that is funny, may be her!

How I wish I could draw..... :)

there's the word 'ART' in your username.... i am sure you can draw.... at least you can try

if you view the photo from different angle the facial expression change, it looks satisfied in one place and tensed in some other angle

oh,,,, i haven't noticed it...

everybody has a different viewpoints, even your vies are appreciated

wow,thats gr8,this portrait is awesom,your work is precious

thank you joy

You on another level @masummum50!!!

thank you so much

Really cool and smooth artwork! Nice touch with those step by step pictures! ^^

thank you.... i like to show people how i do that

can't believe it...

Parabéns pela arte, você desenha muito bem, visualizar trabalhos desse nível é o que sempre tem me inspirado e motivado a continuar.
Obrigado pela postagem, sucesso sempre!
Grande abraço aqui do Brasil!!

wow :} i love it

Oh, your drawing is amazing. I really like your picture! This is my first time to visit your blog, but I'm looking forward to your next wonderful drawing.

thank you so much

What an engaging portrait drawing.

The old lady looks eerily tender, good job.

Nice boy! i like it!
I am an artist too, i love to see new art every day! You got a new follower.

thank you. i love to see art too... so you have got a new follower too

This is so nice, very good proportion!

Excellent job! I'm still struggling both with using pencils more effectively for drawing as well as lighting and shading, so it is really inspiring to see the works of someone who really know how to do those things :)

thank you.... i will be following you to see some of your arts

Great portrait and progress!!! I havent done a portraint with traditional media in AGES!!!!
I may start one tonight :) been so long :O
i mainly use ballpoint pen :) but i start with a pencil sketch! :)

thank you, i can't use ballpoint because i can't erase my mistakes.... you must be very good that's why you don't need to erase

I havent drawn in a while. :)Mostly been doing digital work but even that has been a few months :)
Thats why i love ballpoint pen because it forces you to take your time and master the technique :)
I have a post about my drawings but it's like in my early postings :)

Wonderfull Drawing, That's Amazing