Pencil sketch of Gollum-character drawing/shading study-showing the process step by step

in #art6 years ago

Hey there, i am here with another pencil drawing of a fantasy movie character. This time i drew a portrait of the character named gollum from the movie lord of the rings.
Lord of the rings is a famous movie. Though i love fantasy movie i didn't like this movie series that much. at least not as much as i liked harry potter series.
Anyway this characters face looks like something that i want to draw. I drew this same picture about two years ago and by comparing these two drawings you can easily see how much i have improved.

Final drawing:
IMG_20180423_223802.jpg

The same portrait that i drew about two years ago:

DQmSe5aMZXdqyJK4v1naFvBZYZ9xz4G4GayZzEt6VG5ysHP_1680x8400.jfif

And now:
IMG_20180423_223802.jpg

This drawing took me about 12 hours. may be more(not less for sure).
I used hb,2b,4b,6b and 10b wooden graphite pencil. paper napkin as the blending tool.

I don't know to some people, how do they say that the two years back drawing is the better one. that one i did in about 40 minutes(i don't remember exactly but clearly not more than that).

Anyway i took process shots. Lets see those:

IMG_20180423_161651.jpg

IMG_20180423_162639.jpg

IMG_20180423_164727.jpg

IMG_20180423_175308.jpg

IMG_20180423_192409.jpg

IMG_20180423_205535.jpg

IMG_20180423_212725.jpg

IMG_20180423_215651.jpg

IMG_20180423_222003.jpg

IMG_20180423_222050.jpg

IMG_20180423_223802.jpg

Thats it, i hope you enjoyed the drawing process and give yourself a try if you like.

IMG_20180423_224016.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING MY BLOG
FOLLOW ME TO SEE MORE OF MY ART IN YOUR FEED

Sort:  

I liked the way you presented it. Very detailed, step-by-step process is what should be done on Steemit. I think it is better than uploading only the end product.

yeah.... i got the idea from some other steemian, i liked it and then started doing that

Very good sketch! I hope they make a continuation for Lord of the Rings.

i hope your wish come true

Woo! Great art!

can someone promote my last photo? and help me get more followers? or tell me how to do it :/

you can buy some votes right after posting... in that way your post makes its way to the hot section..... and everyone who visits the hot section gets to see it.... and if your post is good you should get some follower

go to steembottracker.com and buy atleast a $50 upvote to reach the hot section and get more exposure

That's awesome... Keep up the good work

WOW @masummim50!!! You're on FIRE!!!

good work, I like your drawing, my permission follow@masummim50

If I put knowing the character out of my mind, your two drawings look like two stages of concept art. I don't think the first one is better but there's a rawness there that I can see why someone would like. Personally I lean toward the refinement of the second one though.

Beautyful pencil sketch , nice drawing , good job .

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @masummim50

Follow my blog @powerupme

really? because my all post are kind of the same

Thanks for sharing valuable post..
I appreciate your life

ummm.... why do you have such a low rep?

"Master" :) This was my favorite Character in the movie. Very good work, keep it up :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

So cool post, you are a very skilled person to draw this.

Nice Gollum sketch

Wow...simply amazing. The details are impeccable. Keep on improving your skills.

thank you.... i am trying

Amazing work, love the expression in his eyes and the shadows so much!

Such amazing artistic talent!!! Keep up the great work.

thank you so much

Awesome drawing

this is an amazing drawing. it looks like it belongs in one of those Lore books on Buffy the vampire slayer.

gollum was such a complex character

Thank you for sharing your progression from your past to now! Your jump from hard lines to shade really brings forth the realism. Keep growing!

Holy Cow! Two years and you've made so much progress! :o This is inspiring and makes me want to draw portraits again - keep up the great work!

actually, i am a slow learner about art.... or else i should have made more progress in this two years, thank you

Saya mengagumi karya lukis anda.
Anda luar biasa.

english may be?

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

It's like a real one.. 😍😍

un trabajo muy bueno.

i don't know what that means

I'm sorry, your work is very good

thank you

jejejejej :-)

Awesone, When compared to the drawing of two years ago, I can see the incredible level of progress.

Congratulations

thank you.... i am trying harder so one day i can make realistic art

Love your work!!!!

¡Wow! It's a great drawing, congratulations.

100% real art. It's beauty.

@masummim50 Wonderful! I like your understanding of the lights and darks. It's great that you have tracked your progress over the years, I love to do that too.

Also it is nice to find another traditional pencil artist like myself here on steemit. Most people are using devices now, lol.

actually i use devices too.... when making digital painting.... i am not very good at that yet though

That's great, more is always better, maybe I'll get started too

you should, its actually fun

Duże podobieństwo, tylko zęby jakby trochę stępione.