How to Build Up Color on an Acrylic Pet Portrait

in #art7 years ago

Here is some more in progress work on the pet portrait I did in acrylic, an 8 x 10.

In my previous post, I showed you the initial layers, using the glazing technique--where you thin the paint down with clear acrylic medium, and apply it in several translucent layers, to give the painting a rich, colorful surface.

In this video--where the portrait is more than halfway done--I show you how I enrich the color with specific colors, as well as add detail, to make the dogs fur look convincingly real.

Here is the final portrait.

Mulder_dog_portrait_1-fb.jpg

Have a blessed day,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

Watching your painting process is always fascinating, Matt. I especially appreciate hearing your comments about the reasons behind the decisions you make in the development of a particular picture. Thank you for continuing to share and teach.

Thank you for your kind words, Fred. I look forward to sharing more with you!

i followed,follow back and upvote

thanks a lot for sharing the knowledge with us ... learned a lot .. keep sharing , will be waiting for the next lesson.

Thank you, Ark! Looking forward to sharing more with you!

You are very talented :)

Thanks. God gave me the talent. I'm blessed to be able to do this for a living!

Wow...very cool :) I like it :)