Delving into digital design and the wonderful world of T-shirts!

in #art7 years ago

A few weeks ago Threadless, which is a t-shirt company that sells the designs of independent artists had a design contest called 'Speed'. Since I've been trying to get into designing shirts anyway I decided to submit an idea. I worked off the speed of sound, and this is what I came up with:

I was pretty happy with the final product but it took a lot of brain scratching to get there. I've just recently learned how to use adobe illustrator so I spend a whole lot of time hunting down key combinations, and a whole lot less time actually drawing. The design took awhile, but it had pretty good reviews and comments on the site. I didn't win, which wasn't awfully disappointing because I enjoyed the process of drawing it so much.

I really enjoy designing t-shirts so I'm hoping to work on making more shirts like this one. I have some nice ideas for shirts that have a midwest vibe to them. Fields and trees and biking and the like! Once I get some work done on those you can look forward to more posts like that from me. We'll see how my digital art progresses, I'm hopeful that my upcoming semester of school will be a huge benefit!