Drifting wood

in #art6 years ago (edited)

PorthtowanX.jpg

As this is my first time posting on Steemit I shall keep it brief.

I'm an artist living in beautiful Cornwall, a stone's throw away from the most south-westerly tip of mainland Britain that is Land's End. I discovered Steemit through my interest in blockchain technology, however where exactly I couldn't quite say!

I'm going to post a series of my paintings and ink drawings over the next few weeks / months, each accompanied by a brief description. This first one is really a sketch; 450 x 75 x 110mm acrylic seascape, painted directly onto a piece of driftwood that I found at a beach on Gower Peninsula, Wales.

The image depicts a memory I have of a stormy, winter's walk at Porthtowan, North Cornwall in 2007. The surf was pumping; thick, cold, long-period swells, marching a path from the other side of the Atlantic Ocean, groomed by the frigid offshore wind. Heaving, cylindrical tubes detonate on the shallow sandbars of a low-tide Cornish beach.

I gave this as a house-warming present to some good friends last year. The wood drifts on.

Thanks for your time!

Sort:  

Nice artwork. Working over the found is a way of giving emotional value to the piece. I love it. 😀

Hey thanks! I agree, the concept of 'drift'wood continuing on its journey through life into another state and home is lovely to contemplate.. cheers!