Documenting a city: the Dresden watercolors

in #art5 years ago

I recently spent two weeks in beautiful Dresden, Germany for some rigorous job training under my new employ, however it was not so rigorous that I could not venture out and enjoy what the city had to offer. Here are some of my paintings in watercolor of some of the sights I saw during my adventures:

October 3rd was Germany Unity Day, so the office was shutdown for the day. I took due advantage of this to create my first painting, a view of the old city from across the Elbe:

My second painting was done in the courtyard of the beautiful Zwinger palace, which literally means "interspace" as it is placed between what were formerly various royal buildings and was used for court festivities and tournaments. If you're an architecture buff then this is a MUST-SEE at some point in your life:

My third picture is a street perspective done in the "new city" of dresden, or Dresden-Neustadt as it is called. After the re-unification in Germany the neighborhoods just north of the Elbe river greatly expanded in popularity as people relocated to Dresden both from within and outside of the country. This resulted in a cultural explosion and the abundance of great shopping, cuisine and nightlife you will find there today:

And finally, this would have been incomplete without a picture of the office headquarters. This is a unique building in that it was formerly an ammunition factory and bunker during world war II, so it is built with excellent fortification and concrete walls that are about 3 feet thick. I painted this and then gifted it to the German team so they can keep it hanging on their office walls:

So as you can see, this was quite the trip! Dresden, I will be back for your beauty as soon as I get another chance. Thanks!
Michael

Sort:  

Wow!!!
Great artwork!

Congratulations @mikefromhere! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!