Ready for summer

in #art4 years ago

Alright that’s another exciting week passed, I got some things to share.
I finished drawing the Green Man and here it is.

I have been really inspired by the springtime, witnessing all the new growth on my walks in the nearby woods and in my own little plantings. So as I stumbled upon the Green Man while reading about Beltane, I felt like I just had to do one. Originally I thought I’d make a quick drawing for the next day, but it just wasn’t ready. Coincidently we witnessed some snow around the 11th. It was quite surreal to see the fresh growth being covered in the snow. Few days after that I ended up changing the expression to a smile with a little glimmer In the eye, which seemed to go more with the idea of spring.

snow2.jpg

snow1.jpg

The Green Man is a legendary being primarily interpreted as a symbol of rebirth, representing the cycle of new growth that occurs every spring. The Green Man is most commonly depicted in a sculpture, or other representation of a face which is made of, or completely surrounded by,leaves.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Man

All in all, It took about 30 hours and was made over a period of three weeks, starting on the eve of Beltaine 30.4. to 22.5. on the new moon, day after Hela Thursday or Ascension Day. I am pretty detached from any traditions of holidays, and for the longest thought they were pretty useless, but I have been interested in exploring them lately and making new connections.

here is an animation of the process from the ~90 saves.

After I finished it I put up a 1/1 edition up for auction at my makersplace store.This morning I sold it for 1 ETH to a reputable collector which I am quite happy about no. I was hoping to get more but I am new in that scene and enjoying the ride and process of building up -This one didn’t quite push me to VR but that is coming.


Speaking of building, using some of the art sales I ended up purchasing a little plot at Cryptovoxels and started a little gallery there, Cryptovoxels is a virtual world in the Etherium network which you can access with browser. It is kind of like Minecraft without digging or creepers looking to explode your home. I was actually missing minecraft days just few weeks ago so this kind of hit that spot.

ceres.png

My place is at the new Ceres Island, where the plots opened for sale on Wednesday. I woke up 3am just to grab one. I ended up paying 1,2483 ETH for one, that today is something like 240 euros. It feels a little crazy but I love having a place there to work on.

wip4b.png

Next day or so, after clicking on some link I ended up at this wild looking party, that was an WIP event where new projects were being discussed. There was a little tour afterwards and a launch of a line of sneakers, as in in game wearables that you can buy with ETH. There certainly was something magical in that moment and after a moment of hesitation, i ended up buying a pair of VX-2 “Camo”’s from n0wear for 0,15 ETH or ~28,8 Euros today. There were pretty slick more expensive models which I might have bought as well, if I hadn’t already splurged on art. It’s all very absurd and so much fun! Also thanks to the gentleman who donated a mask so we new people wouldn't have to be completely naked.

wip5b.png

ceres2.png

Here is the link to my place if you would like to visit I am currently showing some of the artwork I purchased at makersplace.

https://www.cryptovoxels.com/play?coords=661W,141S,6U

I also registered mikkolyytinen.eth for donations and such.

That's the most of it, i'll be streaming today at 18.00 utc+3, there'll be a post here from vimm.tv/mikkolyytinen, also twitch.tv/nerrax and youtube.