The art of bookbinding

in #art7 years ago

At first you must peak the size of the pages of the book if you want to make it all by yourself and it’s not for conservation procedures . I peaked A4 size and after folding it in the middle , I put four folded pages inside one another and I do that every four pages till I use all of my pages ,those are the issues of the book , the book that I created has ten issues, before using the issues I made I let them pressed for 10 hours in the pressing machine. After that I have to make two holes to every issue for the threads of the binding.
I press them all together in the pressing tool and I cut them in specific areas with a saw the cut must be 2 millimeters at most. After we take our sew needle and we start binding the issues together one by one and very tight and close to one another . Once we finish the binding we start sewing the headboard of the book , the headboard binds together the tips of the book and we sew it separately from the book and we bind it in the tips afterwards .
The hard part is over , it’s time to bind the covers , when we finished sewing the issues we left some extend thread in the binding for the covers. We make four holes in the covers made out of cardboard in order to pass throw the threads , we also engrave small canals with a lancet that connects the two pairs of holes in the cover. We pass the threads in the holes and in the canals we engraved and we seal them with glue .Last but not least we dress the cover with leather or fabric and we put the insoles between the cover and the first page in front and in the back.There are many bookbinding methodes this is one less complecated and more comon in the modern books of the last two centuries , the is a bigger variety of binding methods in the books from the midle age and the bizantin period.images.jpg
635899573128853385.jpg635899573243777168.jpgWP_20160113_14_48_52_Pro.jpg