Fanart through different mediums,Drakengard 3 sisters: Part One

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi, Hello and welcome Steemians. :)

There's a certain reason as to why my posts have been inconsistent throughout August Sketchbook Month. Long story short, I'm improving my skill in drawing human faces. What better way to do that than through fanart? Also, I decided to experiment with various mediums for each piece. Therefore, I'm killing two birds with one stone.

The fanart I created were the characters: Zero and One from the game Drakengard 3.In the game, Zero, the protagonist, is an Intoner,a goddess who uses magic via the power of song.She has five sisters named One, Two, Three, Four and Five, which are all Intoners.Zero, along with her dragon companion Michael, set out to kill all of the Intoner sisters, before they destroy the world.For each Intoner, I intend to draw a different facial expression that apart of their personality.

Zero


One

Now onto the main piece, here's my artwork:
20170827_102842.jpg

20170827_102920.jpg
Zero- Pencil, Ink and Watercolors on Bristol Board, 11 x 14, Finished on August 22nd, 2017.
Starting with Zero, I drew her in a basic HB pencil, inked her with Copic pens, then I decided to use watercolors. To be honest, it's been two months since I used them and I haven't used them in painting people for three years. Thankfully, since I'm good at coloring in digital art, color pencils and shading, through plain old sketching, I presume those skills must have transferred while I was painting. On the other hand, I regret the fact that I made Zero's shoulders a little narrow and that the flower out of her eye should've been a lighter shade of pink.As you can see, Zero has an angry expression, which is apart of her brash, impulsive personality. Overall, everything else is fine.

20170827_102959.jpg
One- Pencils and chalk pastels on Bristol Board, 11 x 14, Finished on August 27th, 2017
When it comes to One, I had difficulty drawing her face at first, I had to resize her left eye, and constantly draw, erase then re-draw her facial and jaw structure. When I completed that, I chose to implement chalk pastels this time, as the medium. Admittedly, I haven't used those in FOREVER but a certain Steemit post by an artist, inspired me to start using them again.

This is the post that revitalized my interest in chalk pastels
https://steemit.com/art/@art-study-pro/art-tutorial-river-banks-pastel-drawing-with-video

Back to the subject, I found it tricky to deal with the dust that is left behind after using chalk pastels. But, don't worry, I got it under controlled. Also, I like the fact that they can blend by just using your fingers. For One's emotion I conveyed "stoicism", since she's calm, collected and rational most of the time due to the fact that she's the leader of the Intoner sisters. Finally, I would like to state that my fanart of her was excellent.

Before I conclude this post, I'll mention that for each sister, she'll be portrayed in a different angle as well. Zero was a front portrait and One was three-quarter view from the left.Stay tuned for more Drakengard 3 fanart. :D

That's the end for today, Steemies, I hope you have a good day wherever you are. I would like to see some constructive criticism in the comment sections, as well as your opinions. Please follow, upvote and resteem me if you like my work. Goodbye everyone. :D

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

amazing art
i will follow your account to see how are you doing;) please follow me

Thanks and I followed you back. :D

I enjoyed reading about your process.

Thank you very much. I prefer to describe my drawings when posting them.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot