A Pencil, Ink and Aquarelle Drawing with a Short Story

in #art7 years ago

I stood motionless in the chaos. And to say these people called themselves civilised. One slight disagreement and look where they ended up. In no way am I suggesting that I'm any better than them, I've had my fair share of unreasonable reactions. But this was extreme. The way things had escalated was unthinkable.
My thoughts wandered, to be sheltered from the commotion, I surrounded myself by thoughts that I considered pure. I created a protective bubble shielding me from giving into the insanity. In this protective bubble, I recalled all the moments in my life in which I had felt total serenity. Like that time in the park. I had sat down on an abandoned bench. The sound of the chirping birds had filled my ears, I could feel the pleasant warmth of the sun as it hit my bare skin. An innumerable amount of nuances of color surrounded me. This was living at its peak. I felt so connected. This was something that made sense. For this feeling, life was worth living.


Sort:  

Beautiful, you are a true artist, of words and of paint.

Thank you so much @clintjunior!!

And you're from Berlin, one of the most interesting cities on Earth. You must find so much inspiration there?

Yes, I just moved to Berlin a few months ago actually for my studies. Like you said, one of the most interesting and diverse city in existence, I absolutely love it here! Where are you from? :)

I'm from Huddersfield, in the North of England. I stayed in Berlin a couple of times when I was travelling, fell in love with a girl, played music on the street, stayed with Iranian refugees! Just such an interesting place, would love to go back. So you're studying art there?

That sounds like a beautiful adventure! How long ago was that? Yes, it's still wonderful here, come again if you get the chance!
Yes, I'm in my first year of studying illustration!

It was an amazing time, about 6 years ago I'd say, when I returned home I had a child, and she's 4 now..! Adventures are a lot harder to come by these days... haha. I'm looking forward to seeing more of you on Steemit, I'll help you out as much as I can, because you're great. Good luck!

Found your blog via curie.
Always great to find a fellow artist and you got yourself another follower!

Hey @rbennett!

I didn't know they had resteemed a post, thanks so much for letting me know ! :D
Thank you also for your comment, I just checked your work out, it's great!I followed you as well and like you said, very nice to be in contact with fellow artists! :D

Yeah it's the $628 one!!
I hope you keep up the regular art posts, you've got a cool style, particularly in your use of colour - something I'm trying to learn. :)

Oh thank you!! Yes, I love creating these posts, It's a lot of fun and makes me very happy! I love the color palette you used in this one: https://steemit.com/art/@rbennett/art-life-drawing-painting-david
Which is your go to technique? Mainly acrylic or do you also touch some oil from time to time?

Thanks, all the colours are mixed from a basic three + white.
I use mainly acrylic but I'm going to make the transition to oils for painting outdoors as the acrylics dry so quick, especially in this hot weather. I'll mix up the perfect colour and then it's dried on the palette before I get a chance to paint with it!
The trouble with oils is the opposite that they take too long to dry. I need to build a box that I can carry the paintings home in before I venture out seriously.

I feel your struggle concerning drying times. It is such a hassle sometimes. I have a particular fondness for oil and the feel of painting with it but one of my main problem is finding a space to paint, if I paint in my one-room apartment, the headache will be inevitable! I should maybe also try the painting outdoor, are you planning to do plein-air? Mainly landscapes or do you also plan on doing figures?

I've done a few Plein air landscapes in paint and quite a lot of pen sketches, particularly urban landscapes and buildings.
A friend of mine is a highly prolific Plein air oil painter who's out every day and I'm trying to get him on Steemit.