Co~creating with Nature! Painted Seed pods tutorial.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Just a few meters down my Calle we have a big beautiful tree that creates these beautiful seed pods. 

I am not sure what the name of the Tree is that produces these wonderful seeds but maybe someone out there can share that info with us!


They make wonderful music shakers with the dried seeds inside of them! 

While walking home we pretend we are shaman performing a sacred ceremony while chanting "What shall I paint on you!, what shall I paint? "over and over again!! lol mmmm hmmmm its true...:P

Here is where the seeds rest inside the pod that make the wonderful shaking sound when the pod is intact!

We begin by sealing the edges with silicon or just a white glue, because as they dry they can split apart and then you loose the seeds inside as well as your wonderful masterpiece is broken...so take the time to do this...I found that I didn't have to sand it it was so ready to absorb my base coat, the hot mexican sun hard at work!  Next I will drill a small hole in to top of the pod with my dremel tool so that I can tie a string to either hang it or as a wrist band for my musical instrument.

After the base coat I pencil in the design and then paint it on with my acrylic based paints. After it dries I apply the varnish coat and voila! Your own shaker/art music maker!

I painted both sides with a different scene....I love them so much!!


Sort:  

I have seen this tree but I don't know it's name. You are really creative!

I know it resembles what we call a flamboyanace with red flowers that is such a beauty but It doesn't have the red flowers, so I am not sure.
thanks for the vote! appreciated!

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Thanks Foraging trail!! I am happy to be a part of the foraging~trail.YEA!!!

I love the design with the fish. What an unusual thing to paint, I love them! Resteemed.

thanks Ophelia, I love em too....thanks for the esteem! have a fantastic day!

Just pressed it again, I don't think it went through the 1st time!

Could be "Honey Locust" but if not it is certainly related. Be careful, maybe find out for sure, because some members of the family are toxic.

Thanks...I appreciate the warning...I will not be eating it any time soon...:P
Have a wonderful day!

Wow! This is so cool! Those seed pod s are huge. You have a new follower. :)

Thank you...I already follow you so we are even!! hahaha they are huge for sure...which helps to paint more detailed things on them...Big Shakers!

Haha Awesome! Thanks for being my follower! :D
I would imagine! Have you tried selling them? Your art on them is beautiful.

your welcome it is our honour to follow all of the wonderful people who share of themselves! um no I am a giver away~er hahahaha I think about selling then somehow I give it away....We are actually stock piling our paintings and will be selling our wares in our local zocalo in our little town in Mexico. :P

Very, very cool! What part of Mexico?

Central Mexico, in the state of Morelos, close to Cuernavaca, about 3 hours inland from Acapulco. Incredible place to live!

Love it! great tip about sealing them. :)

right!...learned from my experience...best way to learn! ha but I love to learn the tricks and tips before the experiences most of the time...:P love your name!

So true :P ... and likewise! :)

Wow - you make each so different! They are beautiful! The nice thing about foraging for art and crafts, is that we don't have to know their names or worry about eating them. It's a great way for people to get started in appreciating the plants around us, with pretty low risk - especially from parts of trees.

Thanks! YA We are all about appreciating the plants, animals and energy that surrounds us, We are one! The native indigenous peoples were so connected and so honouring of the symbiotic relationship of everything. I am on a quest to be as conscious of the connection from my perspective as I possibly can.

You are doing it, alright!

These are fantastic! I love the Rasta Bee, just too cool :D You have a wonderful eye for colour. Thanks for sharing my friend

Thank you Amigo! Thank you for all of your support!

You a most welcome my friend. I love your organic art, working with what's around you and making it uniquely beautiful. Keep posting :D

Such detail! I love this. They may be huge bean pods, but they are tiny canvases!
Upvoted and resteemed!

thank you! have a great day filled with inspiration and love!