Guardians of the Garden, Palm frond Painting!

in #art8 years ago

I Told you before I paint on everything, so when my Hunny said he was chopping off the fronds I jumped for joy at the chance to paint on this wonderful piece of wood Mother Nature had manifested for me! I cleaned up the frond with a cloth and some water, sanded it a tad and then cleaned it again to get all the sanded bits off. 

Painted on a base coat of  acrylic beige house paint. 

Drew in pencil, the primitive face I envisioned as the warrior protector of my garden, and painted him in.




blocking in the colors , he changes as the paint is applied....really the frond dictates what it wants to be so I GO with it!



After the painting is finished and dried , then comes the oil based varnish coat to seal it and then we can hang it in our Garden to ward off those little insects who wish to do harm or mischief! Drilling one or two holes in the top on each side of the frond and using either wire or rope to hang them where ever they belong in your garden.

Here is another one we painted and as you can see we have a few more palm fronds to go!!  Happy Garden, Happy life!! 

Sort:  

lovely work, thank you :)

aww thank you lloyddavis...Gracias:P

That is just a great use of your palm fronds! I like seeing people use material from their gardens in creative ways like that. It looks good in your garden, too!

They would make a great mask, too. I wonder if @justusagenstum would like a mask like that for their collection. : )

I know, I love to use everything that is from Nature, my canvas is boundless! Nature is always flowing my way...:P
I will post my rock paintings tomorrow...:)

If you are foraging natural material for arts, crafts, or food, if you add the Foraging tag to your posts, it will be easier for me to find it and consider it for the SteemTrail @foraging-trail curation. You can find out more here and here.

thank you I will check that out and hashtag it ..great advice :P