Monday, The Early Delivery I Thought Would be Later In The Week!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

I hope you are all well and had a good day.

Its Monday and as far as Mondays go I have had a decent day and I am well.

As I left work and drove home I thought to myself "what should I do tonight? Will any of my deliveries have arrived?"

This meant my plan was to get home get Food straight away and then watch TV until bed time.

Upon entering the house my sister swiftly told me I had, had parcels delivered today and damn did that change my boring plans into something completely different. I wasn't expecting them for a couple more days but here they are and to my surprise All! of them.

48 BrushMarkers and Bleedproof Paper

IMG_20170710_172240.jpg

All the colours

I bought a set of greys, warm and cool, skin tones, pastels, and 3 packs of additional colours - totaling 48 markers - 2 of which are blender pens and at least 2 blacks. I can say there are at least 42 unique markers all brush tip, and I'm happy to have brush pen markers made by "Winsor & Newton" ( http://www.winsornewton.com )

IMG_20170710_173515.jpg

Mid Tones

  • Turquoise
  • Lime Green
  • Sky Blue - with some normal names :)
  • Carmine
  • Lipstick Red - Apparently these names are a bit funky :P
  • Gold

IMG_20170710_174123.jpg

Skin Tones - Hopefully a very useful set

  • Burnt Sienna
  • Saddle Brown
  • Praline - No idea what that is but cool
  • Blush - should be very useful indeed
  • Dusky Pink - sounds skin colour
  • Almond - not sure thats a skin colour but cool

IMG_20170710_174648.jpg

Pastel Tones

  • Pebble Blue
  • Meadow Green - I was hoping was a bit more meadowy before I saw it on paper
  • Cool Aqua
  • Pink Pearl
  • Rose Pink
  • Putty

IMG_20170710_175321.jpg

Rich Tones

  • Ocean Teal
  • Egyption Blue - a great blue for the dark blue of the steemit logo
  • Cadet Blue - a great blue for the light blue of the steemit logo
  • Plum
  • Firebrick
  • Amber

IMG_20170710_175732.jpg

13pcs colour set - 12 +1 blend pen ( Also known by me as the normal colour set )

Turns out I lied earlier about the pen count, but that was off the top of my head and I'm not changing it now.

  • Black - I have got at least 2 of these
  • Warm grey 5 - I definitely have 2 of this
  • Cocoa
  • Lush Green
  • Bright Green
  • Royal Blue
  • Cyan
  • Purple
  • Magenta
  • Red
  • Pumpkin
  • Yellow

IMG_20170710_180131.jpg

Neutral Tones - Cool and Warm Greys - 12pcs +1 Blend pen

  • Black
  • Cool Grey 5
  • Cool Grey 4
  • Cool Grey 3
  • Cool Grey 2
  • Cool Grey 1
  • Warm Grey 5
  • Warm Grey 4
  • Warm Grey 3 - on the paper I mixed grey 3 with grey 2
  • Warm Grey 2 - see the arrows
  • Warm Grey 1

IMG_20170710_181021.jpg

A3 Bleedproof Paper - I was Skeptical

Having order many markers that love bleeding I added bleedproof paper and what a great idea. I was taught to have a bleed sheet to put below all drawings before using these types of markers and to make sure I didn't have to carry on doing that I put the new paper to the test.

As you can see on the right of the picture bellow I have my fresh bleed sheet to the right and no marking. Bleedproof paper also means the colour wont spread out as you colour - Fucking awesome ( sorry I don't swear that often but it is that awesome ).

IMG_20170710_192518.jpg

And as you can see here I swapped the sheets and coloured a circle on the normal paper and that is an aweful mark it has left on the bleedproof paper.

IMG_20170710_192639.jpg

Old to New

The promarker is the old and still manufactured marker - I am calling it old because I have used odd sets here and there since college 8/9 years ago. The BrushMarkers I am calling new as I don't recall Winsor & Newton making these markers that far back plus I have never owned a single BrushMarker!

IMG_20170710_194235.jpg

Everything in One Picture For You!

IMG_20170710_193822.jpg

My only spare pencil case

I thought they would fit but honestly I should have ordered 2 of these - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Winsor-Newton-ProMarker-Marker-Wallet/dp/B01B6AR848/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1499716564&sr=8-1&keywords=Winsor+%26+Newton+Empty+Marker+Wallet

IMG_20170710_194922.jpg

I managed to re-arrange my pencil cases and freed up a second and have them all contained in something but the marker wallet would be useful as every time I look for a single marker it is going to be extremely hard work to find.

Thank for reading sorry if my excitement doesn't come through while reading I honestly am excited and looking forward to using these in the future.

Now what to draw next?

Until next time,
Take care.

STEEMit-Verify-Bardge-nathwright876[1535].png

PS: With the help of Steemit I have been able to afford buying such a variety of markers and with STEEM/SBD I will continue to expand on my drawing equipment

Sort:  

nice

Thanks, I'm looking forward to the learning curve I hope I will be able to use them effectively!

I love it! When you said you were buying markers, you only sent me the link to like one pack, but you went all out!!! That's great though, I can't wait to see what you'll draw. I just bought 12 copic sketch markers with bleed proof paper: R29 Lipstick Red, E13 Light Tan, Y17 Golden Yellow, B24 Sky, E57 Light Walnut, C8 Cool Grey (dark), C6 Cool Grey (light), N5 Neutral Grey (dark), N3 Neutral Grey (light), E21 Soft Sun, E11 Barley Beige, and G09 Veronese Green. I think I am going to watch and practice drawing tutorials, then I will probably draw some sort of scenery with the few colors I have.

hehe I did go all out, all or nothing I found in the past!

I couldn't send you a link to my basket :p Thats a nice selection of copic markers to get started with. Maybe I should have included a link to each set in this post, what do you think?

I could have done a price comparison, but I think for 48 copic markers would be in the price range of a couple of hundreds whereas for these I spent less than £99 including the bleedproof paper.

What tutorials are you going to watch?

That's true lol.

Hmm.. you can add a link, but if you do, that means you have to re-center all of those nice pictures you took. So if you don't mind doing the extra work, you can. I think if people really want to buy the markers, they can make a quick search for them since you gave them sufficient details.

Tutorials about everything! Well, definitely more videos on how to improve drawing people. I need to work on making things symmetrical (one eye hardly ever matches the other eye). I also need to learn how to outline my sketches before I decide to use my copics. I also need to learn how to add shadows to people's faces/bodies/things.

My friend gave me the drawing assignment: learn how to draw hair. So, I'm working on drawing a male with long hair.

Its too late now, if i notice something small just after posting I'll quickly add it but once its done its posted.

There is plenty of great tutorials on the internet for learning to draw!

I wouldn't worry about symmetry too much, its hard to get right but nobody is symmetrical and perspective really skews that in a drawing anyway - unless you do a drawing in orthographic front view, then you best get it right ;)

If you don't mind, I challenge you to draw male and female head turntable with hair, it'll be really good to practice both at the same time.

Any ideas what I can draw next? I was thinking something from One Punch Man or Dragon Ball Z maybe

That's true, I had another friend tell me the same thing about symmetry. What do you mean by male and female head turntable? o.O I just imagined a turn table with a male and female head popping out of it and looking kind of morbid.

I'm not sure lol, I looked through some of your artwork and it seems like you're able to draw anything.
ヽ(゚Д゚)ノ
I normally draw things I'm terrible at drawing (which is a lot of things right now).
What about Shouto from My Hero Academia? You could draw him surrounded by fire and ice.

hahaha a head popping out of a turntable would be pretty funny but this is a character turntable -
(This is an image sourced for reference and not my own )- and you don't have to draw every angle.

I'm not sure I'm able to draw Anything! but thank you very much. However I think there is much I can't draw or tried to draw, I have put a lot of time and I mean a lot of time over the years in to drawing. I couldn't imagine the pile of paper if I still had them all!

I really like the idea, it sounds challenging but I'm trying the think of something that would be fairly basic to draw to try out these markers - I'm not sure how I would achieve the fire and ice even in black and white that would be tricky. << evidence to my belief I can't draw anything :p

This is the character you are talking about? https://anidb.net/perl-bin/animedb.pl?show=character&charid=79988

and he has a fire and ice ability like this?

Ohh I see! Haha, alright, challenge accepted!
That's him! Yes! He's a pretty cool character. I've been reading the manga.

Great post! As a fellow artist who has only used a few marker brands I find this very informative. Thanks for taking the time to do such an in depth review

Thanks

I'm not sure whats next to draw but I'm sure I'll be using and reviewing these markers more

you're so excited to play with your new brush pens it's so nice to see! hope you have fun using them :)