Artist Feature: Eva Cortez

in #art3 years ago

It's been a while so I decided to do another artist feature since you all seemed to like those. I've been eyeing the work of @evacortez for some time now. I love these simple illustrations with bright colors since they match my home's aesthetic perfectly (white on white on white with BRIGHT pops of color 🌈).

I particularly like this one that was designed with the help of their 5 year old! I'm amazed how often I'm drawn to the art of my fellow parents. I wonder if there's some sort of connection between our shared experiences of parenthood?

image.png

Below see the answers to some of my burning questions. Plus, read her interesting take on the benefits of crypto that some of us forget.

Did you start making art physically or digitally? If physically, how did you make the transition?

I am a visual artist, I started making artwork in a traditional way. I was already familiar with the topic of cryptocurrencies and blockchains thanks to a blog I have on steemit since 2018 and then on hive's PeakD since it started.

In the blog I was showing my works made in a traditional way. Then I found Pixeos Gallery digital art Marketplace, and they have a team that supports artists starting on their NFT platform and throughout the process; this is fundamental because at the beginning many doubts arise while you get familiar with this "new" way of making art.

In particular, I started to learn to draw digitally, it was easy for me to become familiar with digital drawing programs. Nowadays I make totally digital works or I make a fusion between physical works edited digitally.

How did you come across NFT Showroom?

After Pixeos, I joined the NFTShowroom gallery. I must point out that the communities in Hive's Discord and these digital art marketplaces have been fundamental to share our works and clarify doubts and concerns throughout the adaptation process.

When and why did you start creating?

In traditional art, I drew sporadically since 2018. At the end of 2019 I took it more professionally. At the beginning of 2020 I started with acrylic painting, and in June 2020 I started in digital art. I always wanted to dabble in digital art but I didn't know what programs to start with. The pandemic and confinement allowed me to research about digital art and take that step. Making digital works offers you certain advantages over traditional art, for example I would not have to go out to buy materials to make my works or sell them and deliver them in person, under the circumstances, represented the best option and over time has shown me that it has been the best decision I've made in this regard.

What do you think about NFTs and cryptocurrencies in general?

NFTs represent a revolution in the art market, they allow us digital artists to market our works. NFTs provide a means that certifies the authenticity and rarity of a work, allowing the commercial exchange between artists and collectors; something unthinkable before, because a digital work can be copied with the ease of a click and there was no way to identify authentic works from unauthorized copies. Cryptocurrencies represent the new economy, as they are based on blockchain technology that is decentralized and transparent, which has given them strength and credibility over time. In countries with devalued economies, earning in cryptocurrencies is a way to safeguard the money we earn.

I think this is a great reminder that countries with currencies that fluctuate wildly, actually find safety in the crypto market. For example, I've read that in Brazil, people who are able, prefer cryptobecause of the unstable financial situation in the country.

Which makes me realize... I don't know where Eva is from!

What inspires you?

I portray the emotions that arise from the heart, the positive and not so positive feelings that flourish thanks to the experiences lived by individuals. In my works you will see hearts that open their eyes, that bloom in colors or fill with coldness.

What should people know about you?

I am a person who follows his heart, does what he loves and leaves the best of himself in every act and work done. Someone who leaves a beautiful mark, a message of good energy and optimism in the people who cross her path.

Overall I think @evacortez creates beautiful, positive work that are just what I need on my phone's lock screen and/or digital frame :)

How to find @evacortez ??
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/evacortezarte/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/evacortezarte
NFT Showroom: https://nftshowroom.com/evacortez/gallery

Sort:  

Congratulations @nikkinicole! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thank you very much for this article Nikkole. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of my art. Also, it has been a pleasure to share impressions with you regarding these topics that summon us. By the way, I am from Venezuela. Big hug.

Ah Venezuela! I'd love to visit one day :) You can find arepas in Venezuela right (or am I mixing up my cuisine/culture?)?

Yeeesssssss! we had arepas for breakfast and dinner too xD

I could eat arepas for every meal!