Most Bizzare Statues In The World / Prague Pt.1

in #art6 years ago

Prague is a city with an abundance of statues. Some are symbolic, some are contemporary or abstract and some even date back to the communist era but some are simply odd and leave you thinking…what on earth?! I don’t normally pay too much attention to my surroundings when I walk around the city. I’ve been living here almost two years, so unless something is strangely large and unfamiliar I tend not to take too much notice while I walk around on my daily errands. However, there are a number of statues dotted around the city that are incredibly hard not to notice!

Quite a number of the strange statues on my list are created by the famous Czech sculptor called David Cerny. While some people adore his work, others simply hate it. I am a person in-between. Some of his work is a little too strange and provocative for my liking…but none the less definitely worth seeing!

  1. THE BIG ASS SILVER PREGNANT LADY
    In Utero, David Černý Statue in Prague

In_Utero-David_Černý-800x1208.jpg

Really not sure what other description I could give it! This rather large stainless steel sculpture currently resides just a few meters from my apartment meaning I have to walk past it on an almost daily basis. At a height of six meters, this rather bizarre work of art is a kneeling down pregnant woman. Named UnUtero, the woman has a hollow inside in which members of the public are free to climb inside to experience what it may be like to be “inside a womb”. I often sit at the restaurant right next to it and hear tourists talking about it. Some think it’s grotesque, some people love it…and others..well some do in fact climb inside however I have seen my fair share of young lads climbing all over it…groping it and even hanging from inside it re-enacting birth….yes really!

Update Feb.2018
-This statue is moved from its original place and no one knows why or where it is now.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://thewanderingwanderluster.com/top-6-strange-statues-in-prague/